pairing down live rig because I'm lazy

Discussion in 'Live Performance & Stage Sound' started by buriedoutback, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. buriedoutback

    buriedoutback SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, ON
    lazy and rushed in a live situation

    So recently I've started removing pedals from my live/jam rig because
    1. I'm lazy/always rushed live
    2. paranoid of equipment failures (due to having 1 at the Faceless show I recently played)

    Elaborate!

    previous rig setup:
    guitar > tuner > behringer mh300 (chainsaw tone) > gate > amp
    loop > eq pedal

    1. I decided that the eq (while making everything sound better) wasn't worth the time/effort/cabling/power supply to bring and setup. extra wires/cables and something else to go wrong. Yes its 1 pedal and 3 wires... but honestly it's given me a sense of relief to not have to set it up every time we play.
    I bought a clip on tuner for a backup (the latch on my planet waves tuner broke so it won't close - but still works) and i'm thinking i might just use that and simplify my chain even more ...
    guitar > gate > 5150

    2. my hm300 pedal started cutting in and out during our last live set to the effect of: chainsaw-broken lofi-chainsaw-broken lofi. it happened again at band practice last week so i removed it from my chain.
    Yes i could probably have spent more money on higher-end gear - alas I did not.

    So, currently I'm guitar > tuner > gate > amp ... and it actually sounds 'fine' ... i have a couple tube screamer-type pedals to swap in for the hm300 but ... it sounds good enough. and i think that no one else but me is actually going to notice....

    TLDR: to the possible detriment of your tone (that probably only you would notice) are others pairing down their rigs for quicker setup / laziness / equipment-failure-paranoia?
     
    Jacksonluvr636 likes this.
  2. buriedoutback

    buriedoutback SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, ON
    I should also add that i have to setup/tear down our backing track and IEM equipment every time we jam and play live, so saving time is important to me.
     
  3. budda

    budda Guiterrorizer Contributor

    Messages:
    22,397
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    London ONT
    I went from a traditional pedalboard to an fx8. I dont look as cool as everyone else but i also dont worry about my rig.
     
    FILTHnFEAR and buriedoutback like this.
  4. odibrom

    odibrom .

    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Location:
    Unknown
    I rarely take my stuff to practice besides one guitar... it's a rental studio by the hour, so I'll use whatever there is as amplifier and cab...
     
  5. buriedoutback

    buriedoutback SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, ON
    we rent our jam space by the month and share with between 3-5 other bands. I don't know or trust the other people. we get to leave our gear there, but its all packed up and secured - hence me having to setup/tear down every time.
     
    odibrom likes this.
  6. buriedoutback

    buriedoutback SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, ON
    apologies if you've gone over this in other threads ... how do you feel about your tone after the switch? better/worse?
    obviously very convenient having an all-in-one with the fx8.
     
  7. budda

    budda Guiterrorizer Contributor

    Messages:
    22,397
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    London ONT
    Im happy to answer questions! I feel my tone is the same. The fx8 has deeper editing than any of the pedals it replaced, but I only really mess with parameters I understand. I read the manual before it arrived, so I had a rough idea of how to set it up. I had it giggable pretty quick and I've been refining things since. The forum and fb group are helpful as well. My first gig with the unit was the start of a 22 day tour haha. I knew soundwise that I wasnt going to lose anything.
     
    buriedoutback likes this.
  8. buriedoutback

    buriedoutback SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, ON
    That's awesome. 'set up good enough then refine on the road' -- i like.
    I think I would get lost in all the deep editing.
    I have a line 6 hd500 that I quickly tried to use in front of the amp; TS > gate > 5150 but I couldn't get the result i was looking for. I might try it again when I have more time to screw around with it.
     
  9. budda

    budda Guiterrorizer Contributor

    Messages:
    22,397
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    London ONT
    I also couldnt get the pod HD sounding anywhere near right when I had one. Not sure what i did wrong haha.

    I dont really sweat the deep editing. I avoid YY tutorials usually but i'd watch one on for that haha.
     
    buriedoutback likes this.
  10. TheArsonistsDaughter

    TheArsonistsDaughter SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Location:
    South Bend, IN
    I've really stripped down and economized my rig over the years for many of these reasons...I went from a Head+rack with processor and pedal switcher + pedalboard w/ midi controller and volume pedal to a 4 space rack with a Power conditioner + Axe FX 2 +Matrix GT800 power amp + pedalboard w/ midi controller and volume pedal + pedalboard w/expression pedals and sampler footswitch. I can cover the same ground I did with my big rig...actually more...but it's just a rack and cab and pedalboards. Somehow just not having to deal with a big bulky head and it's case has made things waaaaaaay simpler. And I'm a total nerd about color coding cables, looming and organizing things, and just keeping things really neat and clean with the rig so it's easy to setup/tear down. I'm also a total nerd about not needing power at the front of the stage...I only use a passive volume pedal and power my controller via phantom power. So basically, I just have to plug in my rack, plug a few cables into it (all loomed and color coded of course...lol), hook up the cab, grab my guitar, and go. We trigger samples via a Digitech Jamman solo, and I built a little 6" x 8" pedalboard for it and it's DI box that stores in the back lid of my rack. So even though we have a lot going on, I've got it down to a science that makes it super simple...I also set it up and tear it down every week for practice, which helps you get good at it as well. The only thing I don't have to lug with me is a cab as we have two at the drummer's house.

    We played our first show in 5 years last weekend...and my first show with this particular version of my rig, and I got a ton of compliments on my sound. I've been super happy with it, but it was nice for other players to be excited about it as well.

    So my theory is: cases, color coding, wire wraps and ties!
     
    buriedoutback likes this.
  11. Turgon

    Turgon SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    I stripped down from Head, Rack, Pedalboard to Axe-FX 2 + Poweramp + MFC. I then discovered, that I still needed some pedals, so I upgraded some Pedals and just recently downgraded again.

    Current setup:
    Amp: Axe-FX2 + Poweramp

    Pedalboad:
    Wireless Unit -> Tuner -> Digitech the Drop -> Wah -> Amp
    + Morningstar MC6

    I got rid of the MFC, because the Morningstar could do even more with way less space. I just dropped the HM300, because I tweaked my Axe until I could achieve the Chainsaw within the presets. Way more comfy to switch to clean sounds. I actually could replace the tuner with the MC6 and the Drop, but I like to have the tuner always on and I use the Drop for half the set and the Pitch-Block isn't that accurate.


    If you are need for the chainsaw I actually recommend the TC Electronic Eyemaster. It has just 2 knobs (Dist and Level), but it sounds like an HM-2 with max'ed High and Low. It's price is also very reasonable. Just don't watch the official YouTube Review. They have no idea what they are doing :D
     
    Chiba666 and buriedoutback like this.
  12. Atte

    Atte SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    I switched my 4x12 cab, Peavey 6505+, head and a pedalboard into an AX8 and a small wedge. My life and sound quality improved 120 %. I just have a G30 wireless receiver velcroed on the side of the AX8.
     
    lewis and buriedoutback like this.
  13. buriedoutback

    buriedoutback SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, ON
    Well, my tuner pedal started shorting out my signal recently. I now think that it may have been the culprit all along, and not my behringer hm300... so out goes the tuner. I'll try to get along using a snark or daddario clip on tuner and see how it goes. I also recently re-joined my old black metal band Empyrean Plague (using my ltd explorer with emgs) and realize I like the tone better without my tube screamer pedal. So, for Empyrean Plague I just have an ISP noise gate (although the emgs don't feed back much at all) and for Buried out Back I use my HM300 > ISP and that's it.
     
  14. Drew

    Drew Forum MVP

    Messages:
    27,613
    Likes Received:
    2,988
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Somerville, MA
    I run a bone-simple rig, and have never WANTED something more complex.

    guitar => Mark-V head => tc electronics Flashbackk X4 in the loop => Mesa Recto 4x12 cab.

    I don't feel like I'm sacrificing anything by not having a fleet of pedals out front.
     
    buriedoutback likes this.
  15. Jacksonluvr636

    Jacksonluvr636 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    363
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Stl
    To the question - yes. I have just downsized for most of the same reasons as you. Can't beat convenience and saving your back but in my case this is going from a half stack tube amp to a pedalboard rig.

    In your case it seems like you are using an amp and just eliminating a pedal or two? If so then why not just leave them all connected to a pedal board? Have a power supply underneath and it would literally be no difference for you at all. Unless I am just reading this wrong.
     
    Gmork and I play music like this.
  16. buriedoutback

    buriedoutback SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, ON
    I eliminated the eq from the effects loop, which needed power and 2 short patch cords. It sat on top of the amp in my situation. Incidentally, I opened, checked, closed and tightened all the jacks on my daddario tuner and it ran 100% tonight at practice. So at this point I'm guitar > tuner > hm300 > gate > 5150 for Death Metal and guitar > tuner > gate > 5150 for Black Metal. I think that will probably be as trim as I can make my setup. \m/\m/
     
  17. Jacksonluvr636

    Jacksonluvr636 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    363
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Stl
    Imo if thats the only thing youve eliminated thats not much. If your amp sounds better with the EQ but a couple 20 ft cables and add it to your board.
     
  18. Gmork

    Gmork SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    175
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Just get a pedalboard, buy some decent short pedal patch cords, some zip ties to secure all the cords down, and a powersupply to mount underneath.

    Then youll just have to plug in the powersupply. A patch cord to your guitar and a patch cord from pedalboard to amp.

    3 things. And your pedals and cords wont get banged around/moved every single time you set it up.
     
  19. buriedoutback

    buriedoutback SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Location:
    North Bay, ON
    That's pretty much what I am already doing. https://i.imgur.com/OnQlvQS.jpg

    The eq I eliminated used to sit on my amp with short cords to the fx loop. I didn't want to run 2 more 20ft cables and have the eq on my board. I tried to eliminate my tuner pedal and replace it with a clip on tuner, but the pedal works better for me.
     
  20. DudeManBrother

    DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    840
    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    I use a simple little board with tuner>gate>OD>EQ(loop) and just keep it on top of whatever amp I bring. In most cases I just turn on the gate, but some amps I have my favorite settings that involve the EQ as well. I don’t switch on/off anything during a show so I can keep all the cable runs short.

    Otherwise, and usually, I have my Kemper and a cab. No pedals whatsoever. I just browse through a few of my profiles to hear which is best for a particular room and stick with it.
     

Share This Page