Newb help with second seven stringer

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Defyantly, Sep 29, 2018.

1. Defyantly

Defyantly SS.org Regular

So, I am still pretty new to the seven string world. My first and only 7 string was a js22-7 that I got used off of reverb. It started off a nightmare. The previous owner had changed out the pickups and installed some unbranded ones that must have been used as well. The neck pickup was intermittent and and the pots were completely ungrounded. After I tore into it I found that the leads to the neck PU were broken off of the actual coils. So that led to a complete electronics change and full upgrade of the pickups. Atleast an upgrade within my budget, which was a set of original jackson made pickups and a new set of pots and switch. Unfortunately it didn't end there. To get a decent action I had to lower the saddles so low that the saddle screws stuck out an eighth of an inch. This made the bridge a very uncomfortable place to rest my hand when palm muting. Overall the jackson was just not my cup of tea. So I ended up selling it to a buddy of mine who wanted to refinish it customize it.

So now I am looking into getting a new seven string after a few months of trying to play drop stuff on a 6 and it leading to frustration and anger. I have searched and searched and I cant really settle on a good pick that fits my wants and needs. Although I know that all of my wants are not going to be met due to my budget (no more than ~300USD).

Wants:
    dual or single humbucker
    maple or ebony FB
    Neck-thru or rounded heel
    preferably 25.5" or greater scale length
    not tradition black color
    satin, oil, or unfinished neck

Contenders that I have found so far include: Douglas Hadron 727 (favorite), Ibanez Gio 7, Schecter C7 (neck heel...), Ibanez RG321MH (black....meh).

TL;DR
    Didn't have good luck with my first 7 string help me pick a new one. ~$300 budget.

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator