New gear, what pedal order?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by mattie, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. mattie

    mattie SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    sweden, västerås
    Hello, I'm new to this forum, my first post! Though I have been reading it for a while now.

    I'm getting a new rig any day now, it's a Engl invader 100 with engl e212vh cab, Engl z-9. And also a couple of effect pedals, like black label chorus, mxr carbon copy delay, holygrail reverb, isp decimator g string and a keeley 4knob compressor and a tc electronic polytune tuner. Thats what my new rig will contain (I'm super excited about it! :)

    Now to why I need your expertise! :)

    I'm kinda new to use effect pedals in fx loops and what so ever, though I've read alot about it. My concern is that the Isp decimator g string has some special wiring, not the usual input/output like a normal pedal. And also that the Engl Invader 100 has 2 fx loops. What is the best way to setup my pedals with this amp? Otherwise i whould just use guitar>tuner>compressor>chorus>delay>reverb>noisegate>amp input (right?)

    Mattie
     
  2. adadglgmut

    adadglgmut Notes from a Ghost

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Man, congrats! That's going to be an awesome setup, and almost exactly the same as what I'm running!
    [​IMG]

    The Invader has a great FX loop, and I would definitely recommend running any "mod" effects through that. It does have 2 effects loops, but you can't turn BOTH of them off, only switch between them. So basically, I leave one dry to turn effects off. I run my top row of my board through the loop and bottom in front of the amp.

    I would go:
    Guitar-->Tuner-->Keeley-->Decimator-->Front of the amp

    And

    FXsend-->Chorus-->Reverb-->Carbon Copy-->FX return

    IMHO, the carbon copy is SUCH a good match for this amp. I run my effects loop fully wet- it takes pedals really well.

    Of course, experiment with positioning and tweak to taste!
     
  3. raximkoron

    raximkoron SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    Depends on your preference, but I'd guess it'd go:

    guitar>tuner>channel 1 of noise gate>compressor>chorus>delay>reverb>amp input
    You also need to have channel 2 of the noise gate in the effects loop of the amp.

    I say it depends, because I personally prefer having chorus and reverb effects in the effects loop rather than out front. If you put some things in the effects loop, keep the noise gate as first in the chain so it doesn't attenuate the effects prematurely, like:
    noise gate>delay>reverb
     
  4. adadglgmut

    adadglgmut Notes from a Ghost

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Edmonton
    The amp already has a noise gate built in that works pretty well for these purposes, even on modest settings.
    You probably could get some gnarly chop running all 3!
     
  5. mattie

    mattie SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    sweden, västerås
    Ok thank u guys for your answers, now I have something to start experminenting with when the gear arrives :) I might reply to this thread if I run into any problems.

    Mattie
     

Share This Page