New build, help needed with string through construction

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by rgk7, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. rgk7

    rgk7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Hi,
    so I´m going to build my first body these days...
    I will use a TonePros TP7 Bridge and would like to have it a string through construction.

    The question is where do I have to place the string through holes?
    How big has to be the gap between the center of the bridge and the center of the holes?
    How much mm´s or inches?

    And what´s the best construction type?
    Just a straight line for the holes or something shown like in the link on the Apex? :scratch:
    http://resources.ibanez.com/resourc...b/insets/zoom/APEX2GSF_bridge_string_thru.jpg

    Thank you very much!
     
  2. neotronic

    neotronic SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    I can't give you anwsers to any of your questions, but if you want, I can take measurements of my Apex II for you. On the Apex, the holes are actually in straight line, but the line is skewed in relation to the bridge.
     
  3. rgk7

    rgk7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Yes, this would be awesome! :)

    Just like shown in the picture.
    Center of the bridge to the center of the lower and upper hole is fine.


    [​IMG]

    Besides that it is purely asthetic and has no other function beside looking cool I got told ;)
     
  4. neotronic

    neotronic SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    Hi,

    the measurements are 7 cm on the low e, and 5.5 cm on the high e from the center of the bridge to the center of the hole.
     
  5. rgk7

    rgk7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Thank you! :shred:
     
  6. Killemall1983

    Killemall1983 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Location:
    Corrales, NM
    The only real factor is looks and having enough clearance so that the strings dont hit the back of the bridge. If you put it too close and you have your bridge set high, the strings will dig into the back of the bridge.
     
  7. rgk7

    rgk7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Makes sense
     
  8. rgk7

    rgk7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Can somebody please tell me how deep the routing for the bridge has to be?
     
  9. rgk7

    rgk7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Tonepros themselve say ' That all depends on how deep you want to sink it and how your neck angle is set... you may want to do some measuring as there is no set rule on how deep to set it... it is all relative to how the neck is set/bolted to the body.'
    So as I'm using a Ibby neck it should be the same as for the Apex.
     
  10. MaxOfMetal

    MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

    Messages:
    28,255
    Likes Received:
    6,175
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Depends on the neck angle and the height of the fretboard off the top of the guitar once the neck is bolted on.

    Assemble everything, and then use a straight edge on the end of the fretboard over past where the bridge will be mounted. Measure from the straight edge down to the body.

    Then subtract the height of the bridge you want exposed from that measurement. It should just be the height of the main assembly.

    From there, measure the total height of the studs minus where the bridge rests.

    I know it sounds complicated, but it's pretty easy if you already have everything ready to go.

    I think StewMac had a tutorial on this as well, check the Free Info part of the site.
     
  11. rgk7

    rgk7 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Okay, I think I can follow you.
    Since my bridge could not be delivered I have to reorder it...
    Might come up to you again.

    Thanks so far!
     

Share This Page