New Band, Need Advice

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by wolf39us, Oct 2, 2017.

1. wolf39us

wolf39us SS.org Regular

So I've just joined a band a couple of weeks ago. We will be playing covers of Alice in Chains, Seether, Shinedown, Godsmack, Stone Temple Pilots etc.

Brief history: I have been playing guitar for about 20 years now. For the last 7 years or so, I haven't had a need for head/cab or combo amps as I've moved into the world of modeling on my Desktop computer.

So as a result, I have sold all of my gear (which actually was just a cheap acoustic amp with a Spider II amp *barf*)

Anyways, now that I'm going to be doing things in a live setting, I've really got to get me some good gear to play. I am the lead guitar player and will need some effects, but nothing too crazy (wah, reverb, chorus, delay). My primary concern is a good gain tone.

The other guitarist in the band has the Marshall DSL40C. It has great clean tone, but I'm just not feeling the gain on it. I've always been a metal head. I'm a big fan of Killswitch, In Flames, Trivium, Machine Head, Lamb of God etc.

Is there a recommendation for a head/cab (or combo) that can get those awesome metal tones that I love in my spare time, but be able to dial back to a nice rock tone?

Also, thoughts on pedals vs multi-fx? Which ones do you like? Which ones do you hate?

2. Wizard of Ozz

Wizard of Ozz Arch-Mage of Metal

Used Mesa Dual/Triple Recto + Mesa 2X12 cab.

A PV 5150II aka 6505+ head will work as well.

Definite preference for separate pedals vs. multi-fx pedals.

3. bostjan

bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

I've used a Mesa Dual Rectifier for almost decades now, and it's been perfect for both metal and rock contexts. I've even got nice warm blues tones out of it on several occasions.

4. buriedoutback

buriedoutback SS.org Regular

any affordable version of the fitty wun fitty and a couple decent used pedals.