Need a little advice

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Tomservo, Mar 2, 2018.

Having a 8 string as the only guitar in your arsenal

1. Good Idea

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Bad Idea

10 vote(s)
    55.6%
  3. Meh

8 vote(s)
    44.4%
  1. Tomservo

Tomservo SS.org Regular

So I've been playing off and on for about 18 years, I feel pretty confident in my learning ability and looking to bring my collection down to just one guitar. I've become interested in ERG's and really interested in multiscale 8 strings. The issue is that I have no way of playing any as I live in a rural area and when I get the chance to go Guitar Center in Little Rock they have a limited selection. I would have the chance to play a 7 string and see if I like that (I checked their online inventory) but no luck on 8 strings. Along with that, like I said it would be my only guitar, would this be unwise to only have an 8 string and on top of that buy one without ever having the chance to try out any kind of 8 string. I am a little more comfortable with the idea of the 7 since I can at least try one out, not the one I want but at least see what they are like. I'm not too worried about neck width as I played a classical guitar for a while and got used to a wide neck.

2. NickS

NickS Carvinite

I would instantly say no way to just one guitar, but I don't know your situation. I guess, if you absolutely have to have only one, an 8 wouldn't be bad. But then again, I never sell anything (I think I have 14 guitars/basses currently:wallbash::wallbash::wallbash::wallbash:).

3. Tomservo

Tomservo SS.org Regular

They do seem to multiply without warning

4. Lasik124

Lasik124 SS.org Regular

Its all opinion really.

8 strings seem to tire out and hurt my wrist due to the size of the neck, so a 6 is a most for me. But hey if you want an 8, and end up not liking it, you can always return it with in a limited time frame typically :)

5. Explorer

Explorer He seldomly knows...