Neck Pickup Recommendations for Clean AND Distorted

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by ajsmcs, Nov 24, 2014.

Tags:
  1. ajsmcs

ajsmcs SS.org Regular

Hello,

This is my first post after lurking on here for the past two weeks.

Background
    I've been playing guitar for about 10 years now. I recently got the urge to get into playing 7-string, so I went to Guitar Center to try out their selection of $200 7's.

I didn't even play them plugged in, assuming the stock pickups were all going to suck. I just bought the one that sounded best acoustically, and felt the nicest to play. I ended up settling on the SGR by Schecter C-7.

To my great surprise, the neck pickup sounded surprisingly decent when played clean. However, as expected, the bridge pickup did not. So after a lot of searching and reading on this site, I ended up getting the Blaze Bridge.

I am loving that. It was a real night and day improvement. Combined with the stock neck pickup played clean, it sounds great too.

Problem
    I'm not still entirely thrilled with the sound of the neck played distorted, good as it might sound clean. Originally, this was supposed to be a single-purpose balls-out metal axe, and I was going to just do the tried and true Blaze 7 pair based off of their recommendations.
    I mean, my primary rig is an American Standard Tele through a Vox AC15C1, so I already have clean, pretty, and bluesy covered. But I've fallen in love playing the 7 cleanly as well as distorted, and I don't want to lose that nice and pretty tone at the sacrifice of useful distorted tone. I knew going in the Blaze bridge would be weak when clean. I'm ok with that.

Question
    What would be a good neck pickup for playing both clean and distorted? I'm thinking more of a nice thick jazzy sound clean, but nice and clear when distorted. It would be more of a lead tone. It would also need to pair well with the Blaze bridge.