My first ERG guitar... buy the right one !

Discussion in 'Extended Range Guitars' started by grigou, Oct 16, 2017.

1. grigou

grigou SS.org Regular

Hello fellows !

I'm really glad to create my first topic and be part of the family after months reading this forum.
    It's really a gold mine of information for ERG guitars !

To introduce myself, I'm a french guitarist, composer and teacher in a music conservatory in France.

I love drone music, shoegaze and metal band like my TOP 3 : Gojira, Meshuggah and Animals As Leaders.

My current gear is :
    - G&L S-500 guitar with very low action
    - Fender YJM NPS 008-046 String Set (008 - 011 - 014 - 022 - 032 - 046)
    - 2 Vovox jack
    - Axe-FX XL+
    - MFC-101 foot controller

In past years, I was using a Hiwatt Custom 20 (and Vox AC15) and few effects pedals : reverb EarthQuaker Ghost Echo, overdrive Fulltone OCD and distorsion MXR Fullbore Metal.

I'm a solo artist and I don't like to play in a band, so I already know that I will never join or create a band in my life. I play in concert with electronics sounds diffusion and interactive video projections.

Now, I want to buy an additionnal guitar to complete my G&L that I love !
    I'm looking for a ERG because I have new composition ideas that requires that extra range, and I want also to explore new possibilities of chording and arpeggios. I always play 6 strings guitars, but I have big hands so it's not a big deal.

I play most of the times with a clean sound because I play mainly with tapping and percussion, but I will also use this guitar with distorsion. To give you an idea of what I want to do : Tosin Abasi is my biggest influence.

And now, it's the time I need you (sorry for the big introduction...) !

I've already some precise ideas of what I want. My perfect guitar will be :
    - 8, 9 or 10 strings with extra low strings only (no high A)
    - fanned fret for intonation
    - lowest action and string tension possible
    - 27 frets
    - vibrato