Misha Mansoor's Precision Drive on Bass

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by Vince Torch, Jan 23, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Vince Torch

Vince Torch SS.org Regular

Hey guys ! I'm a bassist and I would like to have a djent tone, but sadly I don't have the money to afford myself a computer with an axe fx or a kemper or stuff. But I saw that Misha Mansoor has released a djent pedal, real good quality and totally affordable for me. So basically it should work on bass, since I've found some official bass tracks made with that pedal on spotify, but I would like to know if any of you guys have tried it on bass guitar and does it sound. Thanks a lot ! Have a nice day

2. xwmucradiox

xwmucradiox sweep.tap.sweep

The main thing it offers is an option to cut bass on the front end of a boost. That's definitely not how I would want to go about tracking bass. Especially when the guitar is usually cutting a ton of bass to stay tight on fast parts. Since bass is usually playing half as many notes at most you should be fine with keeping all that bass in the signal and letting the notes breathe a bit. I would get something that gives you the option to fine tune treble and upper mid to get as much cut as you need.

3. Beheroth

Beheroth SS.org Regular

djent on bass = darkglass b3k/b7k

4. narad

narad SS.org Regular

Yea, if you want djent tone on bass buy the Periphery bass player's stuff. The freq cuts on the precision drive might work here or there on bass, but they can't be optimized for both instruments.

Hollowway likes this.
  5. cmtd

cmtd SS.org Regular

I own this "djent pedal" and don't play djent, or really even listen to it. It's an overdrive pedal, not a djent pedal.

Hollowway and A-Branger like this.
  6. xwmucradiox