LTD MH-417

Discussion in 'Guitar Reviews' started by Moolaka, Jul 17, 2010.

1. Moolaka

Moolaka SS.org Regular

Price: $649 w/o case.

Features:4
    One tone knob & one volume, plus the three way toggle. I started playing on a Les Paul style with these controls and I don't really need anything else, in fact, I prefer it to my Jackson SLSMG's sliding switch. A second volume would be handy for silencing but as I said, for me, not needed.
    The tuners are black Grovers non-locking, non-trimming. They work for me and I don't like locking tuners because of the hassle.

Sound: 4.5
    I've run it through a couple of different small amps and it always sounds a lot like Nevermore. I don't sound like Jeff Loomis but this guitar makes me wish I knew some of their songs. It's got a pretty brutal tone. The p.u. are EMG 81-7(b) and EMG 707(n). From what I can tell the 81-7 is a normal 81 for seven strings and the 707 sounds like a 85 with tighter lows. They sound better than the normal ones in my opinion. They also look better without any p.u. rings and pretty much match the color and finish. The cleans sound compartitively mellow, it's that EMG 81 tone but just a little more even low-mids/high-bass range. I'll give it a 4 because I just plain haven't explored and tweaked and matched it to a good amp and cranked it.

Action, Fit and Finish: 4.5
    The finish is a velvet black, I think it's actually called black satin. I would have preferred a clear coated version but I'm fine with the black. To it's credit here it doesn't show fingerprints as easily.
    The neck is neck-thru-body and has a rosewood fretboard, mine's pretty dark and looks like ebony and I've seen ones that are pretty light as well. The back of the neck matches the body, satin black. I think it's a lot more comfortable than gloss, it seems like it has more predictable and even resistance moving up, down, back, and forth. Here, I love that finish. 24 XJ frets, 25.5 scale, thin U contour.