Looking for suggestions on new guitar

Discussion in 'Sevenstring Guitars' started by metallicgreen, Nov 1, 2018.

1. metallicgreen

metallicgreen SS.org Regular

Hi guys, I'm new to 7strings. I'm looking for a guitar wanting to play songs from a certain band. Here are the things I'd like:
    - 24 frets
    - fixed bridge (easy to change tuning as the band has some songs with various tuning including irregular)
    - EMG 81 and 85 or similar sound (somehow I hate the sound of 707)
    - budget probably around $2k (a little better quality as I'm not buying again in the future)

Sadly local shops here rarely have 7-strings. I did some research online and looks like there are not a lot of choices I could find as many are either FR or 707. The closest I could find is ESP E-II NT-7 evertune. The idea looks good but it seems not quite popular as I couldn't find any info or actual comment on how it is, esp. on the change of diff tuning. Problem is I don't want to buy it without trying first, but they don't have any demo even in the ESP custom shop in Japan when I went there in summer.

So could you guys please suggest any models that fit my spec?

Thanks!

2. Turgon

Turgon SS.org Regular

Hi there,
    the 707 is actually a 85 for sevenstrings.
    The evertune is great if you only switch between you standard tuning and drop (f.e. Standard B and Drop A).

Obvious suggestions would be Schecter and Ibanez. Both have several models without Floyd and 707s ;)

3. cardinal

cardinal Strat 7 Guy

24 frets and a fixed bridge at $2k or less describes the vast majority of 7-strings these days. Pickups can be changed easily and cheap comparatively, so it’d be a bit silly to base the entire purchasing decision on that unless there’s truly no other specs you care about.

4. metallicgreen

Thanks for the feedback. Most Ibanez I see is FR though. The only Schecter I could find is Damien Platinum but I'm not confident with it made in Korea.