Looking for building resources for DSP-based guitar effects using microcontrollers

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by Xaios, Oct 4, 2017.

1. Xaios

Xaios Foolish Mortal Contributor

Some context: I've just started my 2nd year of electronics engineering (although technically I'm in a diploma program for techs, but after this I plan to bridge to a university to get my bachelor's degree). In the winter/spring term next year, we spend the entire term working on a capstone project. Naturally, as a guitarist, my mind gravitated towards building circuits for audio effects such as pedals. But I think it would really be great if I could learn how to use DSP (digital signal processing) using a microcontroller in order to accomplish this as well, so I could build a rudimentary digital multi-effects pedal.

So, I was wondering, has anyone here done this kind of thing before? If so, what are some good references to get my feet off the ground? Also, what are some good choices for a microcontroller to use? We're currently learning basic microcontroller programming (I'm not exactly fond of Assembly code right now, let me tell you, but I know that's just something I'll have to get over) on the Microchip PIC18F452, so something with a comparable instruction set would be preferable (although I also realize that, if I'm going to be using a microcontoller meant specifically for DSP that this isn't terribly likely).

I realize full well that I might be overreaching given the skills I may or may not acquire between now and January, it's hard to know for sure what I'll be capable of by then without having actually learned it, so I plan to also research analog effects as a fallback. But still, this is something I'd *love* to be able to learn to do.

2. vansinn

vansinn SS.org Regular

[FLASHBACK]
    Ahh, the wonderful world of assembly code...
    [/FLASHBACK]