Line 6 POD HD Pro Live?

Discussion in 'Live Performance & Stage Sound' started by IbanezShreds, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. ConnorGilks

    ConnorGilks Still can't play.

    Messages:
    3,589
    Likes Received:
    284
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    When it comes to using a power amp for a digital processor, my opinion is: tubes > solid state. That being said, you should try both. It's more about what you like, as both will work just fine!
     
  2. Darren James

    Darren James SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Stratford, ON Canada
    I just have a question maybe someone can help with. I have decided to go with the powered monitor method for my pod HD. I already own two half stacks and want something easier for jam/live shows. My only problem is budget, I have about $600 to spend which isn't a whole lot really. I'm wondering if I should get two cheaper powered monitors or just get one decent one for the time being. Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  3. Darren James

    Darren James SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Stratford, ON Canada
    Also, any suggestions on what make to get is highly helpfull.
     
  4. Chuck

    Chuck SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    434
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida, USA
    The Alto's are great IMO
     
  5. TonyFlyingSquirrel

    TonyFlyingSquirrel Cherokee Warrior

    Messages:
    3,282
    Likes Received:
    532
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    Auburn, Washington
    +1.

    I never go through a cab anymore, all of my live presets are the same as my studio presets and I've spent a good while tweaking them to perfection during recording.

    A good tip if you are working this way, always tweak your presets against backing tracks, that way you're editing with the way your guitar sit/cuts in a fully mixed band context. It will always come out better than if you edit without anything else in mind.

    Invest in some good in-ears, (these are some of the nicest spec'd ones I've found, and a friend of mine in a well known band uses them faithfully: http://guitarearz.com/index.php) get a wireless in-ear setup, put em both on your pedal board.

    You plug your wireless into your HD, give FOH a d.i., get a monitor mix at line level to plug into your IEM transmitter. Done.
     
  6. Darren James

    Darren James SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Stratford, ON Canada
    I just checked the Alto's, this is what I was looking for, thanks :hbang:
     
  7. Oxygen42

    Oxygen42 Bedroom Shredder

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    Did you have the switches on the i/o panel set to "live" and "amp" rather than "studio" and "mixer"? If it was set to live, it bypasses the cab and mic modeling, leading to that really fizzy tone.
     
  8. Chuck

    Chuck SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,126
    Likes Received:
    434
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida, USA
    No problem man.
     
  9. Alekke

    Alekke Octopus Djentalis

    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    140
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Location:
    Zadar
    No. Thats all fine. It probably all comes down to PA system and sound technician.
     
  10. superash

    superash SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    London
    Playing through a HD Pro live is so crisp. Seriously a great piece of gear.
     
  11. japs5607

    japs5607 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    This is what I'm using

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Fragments

    Fragments SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    I use POD hd Pro and i'm about to buy some new gear so i will be running >

    line 6 shortboard 2 > hd pro > rocktron velocity 300 > cab

    forgive my dumbness but what kind of cables are best for this and where would they go i.e. instrument and speaker cables

    also if i was to add a power conditioner how would i hook that up and again what type of cable.

    and last but not least if you use the live method above is it still better to keep hd pro on studio setting?

    cheers guys
     
  13. progman

    progman SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Location:
    "East Brunswick, US"
    I have the pod hd500x with one Alto 12" and I can tell you that it sounds pretty good and would be loud enough to play in practice, maybe even small shows. I was running the pod through the fx loop of my old marshall vs100 head and cab, and the Alto sounds much tighter and crisper. With tax, I got the Alto from GC for 300$
     
  14. VBCheeseGrater

    VBCheeseGrater not quite a shredder

    Messages:
    4,271
    Likes Received:
    406
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    Hampton Roads
    Speaker cables are a must from the power amp to Cabinet. If you use instrument cables you could fry power amp.

    For all other connections (preamp to power amp for instance) use short instrument cables.

    As for the power conditioner, no additional cables are needed. You just plug it into wall and plug your other devices into it.

    If you use the live method you mention, it's best to turn the cabs off completely, which means the output setting will not matter.
     
  15. fc3603

    fc3603 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    China
    I prefer this method. I tried connect pod directly to mixer. It did sound good. But if your band don't have a decent in ear wireless monitor system, The other member will have a hard time listening to your guitar playing. Stage monitor is not enough. Especial when you play in large venue. The PA sound will bounce back to the stage. You might hear the latency. So it's better to have a cabbed sound on stage as a monitor.
     

Share This Page