Line 6 POD 2.0

Discussion in 'Gear Reviews' started by Abaddon9112, Dec 29, 2013.

1. Abaddon9112

Abaddon9112 SS.org Regular

The Line 6 Pod 2.0 has been in continuous production for close to 14 years now. It was once a very well regarded amp modeler used (in either its "bean" format or the rackmount Pod Pro) by some big name bands like Meshuggah and Fear Factory, among many others. It has become so obscure with the coming of more advanced modelers that a lot of players don't even know they are still made. But it is seemingly a fixture in Line 6s product lineup as their entry-level modeler, and for good reason, as it is really a very good little device.

I bought the Pod 2.0 because A.) I'm not wealthy B.) I'm not a professional musician and don't require top dollar gear, and C.) I like to collect and utilize obscure and outdated effects. The Pod 2.0 isn’t the cheapest modeler on the market at $200 new, but in my opinion it outclasses the comparably priced Digitech and Zoom modelers. It offers true stereo line level outputs rather than the instrument-level outputs of inexpensive multi-effects pedals. It is also fully MIDI compatible, which you can do a number of things with like storing tones on a computer, transferring tones to another Pod, changing parameters with a MIDI controller, or automating program changes with a sequencer. It has a sturdy metal case which is nice. Comes with a heavy duty power supply and most of the necessary manuals, but for some reason not the Advanced Guide, which is available on Line 6s website.

As far as ease of use, it definitely gets a 5. It is a very intuitive device to use, and really only gets a little confusing when doing the MIDI stuff. Pretty much plug and play with a brief skimming of the manuals.