LeCab 2 problem: Crashing my DAW

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Ben.Last, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. Ben.Last

    Ben.Last Formerly Lern2Swim

    Messages:
    2,805
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Has anyone else had any problems using LeCab in their DAW? I have a bunch of projects in FL Studio and I can't open any of them now. They seem to load to LeCab and then shit the bed. Since I can't even open them, I can't go in and disable it or anything either. I've found solutions for this type of problem related to Massive around the net, but I can't see any way to apply the solution to LeCab (they involve deleting something from the appdata and I can't even find anything in appdata for LeCab)
     
  2. Winspear

    Winspear EtherealEntity

    Messages:
    10,388
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Deleting the plugin would work. Of course you'll loose it in the DAW but as long as you remember what cabs you used it should be cool.
    No solutions on fixing it though, I can only suggest using another convolver.
     
  3. Ben.Last

    Ben.Last Formerly Lern2Swim

    Messages:
    2,805
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    You'd think that would work. It's not for some reason. FL Studio goes through the initial loading process until it shows that it's loading LeCab and then pppfffffbbbbbt (that's the sound of the program farting, in case you can't imagine it yourself). This happens even now that I've deleted LeCab. :wallbash:

    I downloaded the new version that he just released. I'm going to create a test project to see if it ends up doing the same thing (it's hard to tell, because these are projects that worked fine for a while and then they just stop) before continuing with it. But if I can't find a solution, I'm just going to have to start from scratch on my existing projects.

    I'm looking into other Impulse loaders, but I haven't found any that have the features I like in LeCab.
     
  4. Winspear

    Winspear EtherealEntity

    Messages:
    10,388
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Damn dude that's hard...Sorry I have no other ideas!
    Redwirez MixIR has similar functionality :) The panning isn't quite as flexible/intuitive but it's a very cool plugin.
     
  5. spilla

    spilla SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    I have a similar problem with Lecab2 and reaper. Seems having a samplerate higher than 48 kHz or moving your IR's once you've started the project can cause crashes. If you have moved you IR's try putting them back into the original folders you had them in when the project loaded.

    Lepou mentioned some sort of update that may have fixed those problems but i havnt seen him on GAM for a while, so i havnt been able to get a copy. If you cant get it sorted send him a pm/make a thread over there? Heres the thread about Reaper crashing.
    GuitarAmpModeling.com - View topic - Reaper crashes with LeCab2 in the input fx chain
     

Share This Page