Kemper vs Load Box for quiet recording?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Frey, Apr 24, 2018.

Kemper or Load Box for quiet home recording?

1. Kemper

7 vote(s)
    58.3%
  2. Load Box

5 vote(s)
    41.7%
  1. Frey

Frey SS.org Regular

A fond hello to you all!

BACKGROUND:
    Recording novice here that is desperately seeking a means of quiet home recording. I've only recently started to get the hang of traditional guitar recording ie micing a cab but I'm finding fewer and fewer opportunities to crank my 100W+ heads at the necessary volumes. I've tried plugins which I had no luck with and also recently bought an AX8 which I don't find much better. It may be pertinent to mention I play primarily metal.

ACTUAL QUESTIONS:
    I was all but set on the Kemper as my next step but then I found out about load boxes and they seem to be very well thought of and sound great in the videos I've heard. The premise actually sounds to me like it may be an even better means of getting that organic tube sound and feel. I was also hoping for some direction as to what hardware and software might suit me best in as far as load boxes and IRS. Price isn't too much of a factor here. Also, is there a consensus at to whether proprietary cab sims or 3rd party should be a serious consideration ie a Two Notes Torpedo Captor with software IRs vs something with built in cab sims?

Any input will be greatly appreciated :)

2. Sumsar

Sumsar SS.org Regular

I recently got a two notes captor and it is a great way to use your amps at bedroom levels and still get great recordings. The main issue when it comes to loadboxes is how to monitor yourself while recording. Running an IR in the box can have some latency depending on your setup. The captor does have a -20dB output which allows you to record with the poweramp doing some work while still not being too loud, but if you really want to crank the amp you have to do it without a cabinet.

3. aqa

aqa SS.org Regular