Ironheart cab: e412vs, Vader 4x12

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by rick_fears, Jan 24, 2014.

1. rick_fears

rick_fears SS.org Regular

Hey guys, ive got a laney ironheart and ive decided its time for a new cab. Been shopping around and found a standard Engl pro e412vs Loaded stock with v30's and a Vader 4x12. Either one will cost me $500 to bring home. Dont want to turn this into another speaker thread but the supposed "lack of mids" and "lack of life" from the Vader scares me. But at the same time I am looking for a much smoother thick Tone so the Vader might work out opposed to the engl:scratch:. I have no first hand experience with either cabinet but I am going to check them out for myself tomorrow. Just trying to get a heads up before I head out.

I play melodic deathmetal kind of stuff. The group I currently play with has three guitars, full Mesa triple setup and a xxx, so getting lost in the mix is definatey a concern of mine. So anybody tried a laney through a Vader?? How do they do with v30's? Ive read that the ironheart essentaily is a "laneyfied" 5150. I have no experience with 5150 so I cant really comment on that lol

2. ridner

ridner Bastard of Thousands

Vader cabs for the win!

3. TeeWX

TeeWX All The Br00tz

What kind of sound do you want? V30's are extremely popular and it's hard to go wrong with them. K100's are also highly recommended by awesome people such as myself. :p

The driver that you choose will have the most affect on your overall tone. The cab as it concerns guitars isn't an enormous factor. However as a general rule of thumb a cab with a larger volume (H x W x D) is going to give you more low end.

4. cGoEcYk

cGoEcYk SS.org Regular

The ENGL cab is the tighest and most aggressive cab I have ever played through. It's loud in all of the cut-through frequencies and shakes the room with precision due to the super-controllable low end.