In 2018 most userfriendly/affordable/quality interface for recording REAL drumkit???

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Gmork, Mar 5, 2018.

1. Gmork

Gmork SS.org Regular

Whats the consensus in 2018?

-12 to 16(ish) inputs for full drum set up .
    -Quality Build that should last many years to come.
    -Budget around $1000 (Canadian)
    -User friendly/plug n play .
    -USB2 .
    -available at L&M preferably.
    -sounds halfway decent .
    -Of course ill be recording the entire band when all is said and done just fyi.

Does this exist in this day and age?

Im kinda new to interfaces so the more plug n play it is, the better . i currently use a steinberg ur22 which ive been getting along with nicely but i want to upgrade so i can record a drum kit (for my bands ep)

Thanks a bunch for any insight folks .

2. Winspear

Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

Focusrite Scarlett OctoPre (8 channel preamp with ADAT digital connection) daisychained to Scarlett 18i20 8 preamp interface. Should be bang on your budget, 16 mic preamps in total :)
    You would have the 8 interface mic preamps available as inputs in the DAW, and then 8 digital inputs available from the interfaces ADAT too, which would be receiving the digital signal from the OctoPre.
    Essentially your input list will look something like
    Mic preamp 1
    Mic preamp 2
    Mic preamp 3....
    ADAT 1
    ADAT 2
    ADAT 3 and so on.

I don't recall seeing an interface with 16 dedicated mic preamps in a long time. Digital expansion is nice and flexible.

NosralTserrof and odibrom like this.
  3. Gmork

Gmork SS.org Regular

Hmmm you lost me at digital input lol . I just want to be able to plug in actual mics .Does it have at least 8 mic pres?

4. Winspear