Importance of amp with vst like Guitar Rig?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by grimmfatality, May 10, 2015.

  1. grimmfatality

    grimmfatality SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    California
    This might be a dumb question but I'm wondering if my current amp (a small Fender combo amp, never really loved the tone) could be affecting my tone when I'm recording while using Guitar Rig 5. I've recorded a track and I keep trying to tweak the GR files and use presets but everything sounds either too noisy, too thin, or generally unpleasant.

    TL;DR
    Does your amp matter even when using a vst?
     
  2. Promit

    Promit SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    96
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    What?

    When you're recording through a VST, there should not be any amps involved.
     
  3. Sephael

    Sephael Divine Paradøx Contributor

    Messages:
    2,264
    Likes Received:
    139
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Ky
    Think he is using it as an interface or micing it up to get the signal into the computer.
    Everything in the signal chain effects your tone. If you are running to the aux input and just using the amp as a speaker it isn't as big of an effect, but yeah it can still be ruining your tone.
     
  4. Promit

    Promit SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    96
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Yeah, don't do that. Buy a Guitar->USB cable. Better yet, buy Rocksmith with the included cable and enjoy Rocksmith as an added bonus.
     
  5. Alex Kenivel

    Alex Kenivel Psycho, dont engage

    Messages:
    4,050
    Likes Received:
    182
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    moon
  6. grimmfatality

    grimmfatality SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Location:
    California
    I forgot to mention, I'm running the cables through the amp, then through a PODHD300, then into guitar rig. I'm bypassing the HD300 and using it as an interface, but might try just plugging my guitar straight into the pedal. Thanks for the solid advice
     

Share This Page