Ibanez 7 strings and their necks

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Kostic, Dec 4, 2017.

1. Kostic

Kostic SS.org Regular

Hi,

I recently started playing a 7 string (having joined a band that required one), and managed to pick up an Ibanez Apex1 in a good condition.
    In terms of sound and looks the guitar is great, but I'm not sure I can get used to the neck profile on it. It seems to be quite flat at the back with wide shoulders, so it has this fatter feel , which is not the best for me to shred on.
    My long time 6 string is actually pre-prestige RG570 with a Super Wizard neck, which is very thin but also quite round at the back (no big shoulders). I'm really comfortable with it.
    So, I'm looking for any potential alternatives to Apex1 (which I might or might not keep too, as it's quite unique), but with a more comfortable neck for me. I'm going to take a look at the obvious 1527 soon. Not sure if it is worth looking at K7, as the neck profile will probably be the same as Apex1? I do want to stick with Ibanez for now.
    Basically, I wonder if anybody else found the same about these necks? Any suggestions of which Ibanez 7 necks will get the closer *feel* to super wizard?

Thanks,
    Kostic

2. FILTHnFEAR

FILTHnFEAR Infidel

If you don't care for the Apex because of it's flat neck, you won't care for the 1527 either, most likely.

Most Ibanez 7 strings, that I know of at least, will have a very similar profile.

3. Kostic

Kostic SS.org Regular

Well, it's not the flat bit that bothers me, but that "beefier" feel on the Apex. I just want something that actually feels thinner.
    Looking up dimensions of Ibanez 7-string necks on the internet, most of them seem to have the same dimensions, but profiles are definitely different (I have tried some MII ones in a shop, it definitely felt thinner, but I didn't care for the guitar itself).

4. Metropolis

Metropolis SS.org Regular

I assume your guitar's neck profile is one of the Apex profiles.