Hyper-tonic Scales (Specifically Two-Octave)

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by ElRay, Mar 7, 2018.

1. ElRay

ElRay Mostly Harmless

I know this is a sub-set of the Synthetic Scale Thread, but I'm looking at a specific sub-set: Two-Octave Scales. What prompted this was my recent dive into 5ths-based tuning (specifically Tripp's NST). What I noticed that playing four sequential frets in one position covers two octaves in four strings:
    Code:
    0  7 14 21
    1  8 15 22
    2  9 16 23
    3 10 17 24
    I've started some trial and error (e.g. standard tuning minor pentatonic pattern on a NST guitar), but I'd like a bit more "understanding" -- I'm not good with trial and error stuff. I found some stuff by Colette Mourey, but all the "texts" are in French, and I haven't had a chance to digest the scores I've found.

One thing I have noticed is that everything I've tried has a 3rd/4th every third note or so. I can reduce that to a whole or whole-half by sliding down a fret or two every time I move up a string:
    Code:
            15 22
            16 23
         10 17 24
         11 18
       5 XX 19
       6 13
    0  7 14
    1  8
    2  9
    I haven't played around with this yet, but then again, I'll be back in trial and error land.

2. Winspear

Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

Sounds interesting! I'll have to check these out. The skipping of the 4th and 5th in box shapes was always my main aversion to 5ths tuning but it can lead to interesting results and of course be avoided by shifting like you noted.