HSS Pickup Sets - Jackson SL1

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by Spicypickles, Jul 2, 2018.

1. Spicypickles

Spicypickles 8 string Warrior

I posted this over at the Duncan forum as I lean towards their tonality, but I would like any info on the subject, really. Feel free to ignore my initial question and just post your setups if you like. I'm new to this setup so any info is good info.

I recently acquired a Jackson SL1 that's currently loaded with the stock JB (bridge) and classic stacks (middle and neck). For those unfamiliar, its a maple neck through poplar body with ebony board, so it's fairly bright. It became clear shortly after plugging it in that the bridge pickup was pretty noisy, which was a surprise compared to the singles that usually always have the noise. Turns out that the JB is microphonic, and I have a few choices to rectify the problem. I have a couple other guitars loaded with JB's and they aren't my favorite so I'm leaning towards replacing it. My issue is that I'm not sure if I want to replace the entire set. The classic stacks seem to be a bit underpowered, but they sound really good, and are diverse.

My thinking:

• Wax Pot the JB, and be done with it. Maybe swap in a different magnet?

• Replace the JB with a Parallel Axis TB, solely on the merits of its looks. How well would they match with the classis stacks?

• Just overhaul the whole thing, new pickups in every orifice, in which case, what would you recommend?