how to stop reaper from muting everything thats not itself

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by pastanator, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. pastanator

    pastanator SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Location:
    virginia
    basically title. im trying to monitor my pod through reaper and play along to stuff in windows media player or tuxguitar.
     
  2. smokiekouki

    smokiekouki SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Location:
    Shreveport, LA
    You should be able to do that with sound monitoring on. But you can also import the file to reaper into its own track and play along that way
     
    cwhitey2 likes this.
  3. cwhitey2

    cwhitey2 BlackendCrust Metalâ„¢

    Messages:
    4,655
    Likes Received:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Location:
    Binghamton, NY
    I jam to itunes all the time and never have an issue with it muting other programs.
     
  4. pastanator

    pastanator SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Location:
    virginia
    ive been doing that for learning stuff but its kind of a hassle and i feel like i should be able to just like make it so it doesnt mute everything. it didnt do this until i downloaded the asio4all drivers several months ago. what do you mean by sound monitoring? ive got the monitoring thing on the track on
     
  5. GunpointMetal

    GunpointMetal SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Which POD? If you're using the POD (or other interface) USB connection to connect to Reaper you'd need to go into the actual Windows Audio Settings and set the output settings for the POD, too. Some versions of Windows/certain hardware only wants to use the built-in audio for Windows Media Player unless you assign it. There's really no need to have DAW monitoring turned on if you're playing through the POD anyways, unless you're plugging into another interface that doesn't have input monitoring as a feature.
     
  6. InCasinoOut

    InCasinoOut syncopAZN

    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    174
    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    I believe it's the ASIO drivers causing it, not Reaper. I had also downloaded ASIO4all because it solved the latency problems I had with the Focusrite drivers I started with, but it seems to mute other PC audio to make that work. You might be able to try a different ASIO driver under devices and see if there's one that has no latency and still plays back other audio.
     
  7. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    4,615
    Likes Received:
    934
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    This is the culprit right here....I'm pretty sure it can only run one audio source at a time. I've got a decently high powered comp here, and I have no issues running games and listening to YT vids at the same time, but if I load up Reaper nothing else works.
     

Share This Page