How to get this type of bass tone?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by xeonblade, Dec 5, 2011.

1. xeonblade

xeonblade SS.org Regular

I'm just loving the heaviness of this bass, it's just crushing. Any tips for that?

P.S. Listen to to that lows on kick and bass on this stuff.

I can feel kick and bass subs kicking my eardrums with my AKG K99. Really deep bass and kick.

2. xeonblade

xeonblade SS.org Regular

Even 1 lame tip would be fine >.>

3. Konfyouzd

Konfyouzd Dread-I Master Contributor

How are you currently EQing your bass? I've always been told it's a good idea to boost high and low frequencies on bass and cut mids to have it sit around the guitar and kind of reinforce what the drums are doing. I'm no expert, though. This is just a tip that was given to me. And it seems no one else has any so I figured I'd offer what I could. :yesway:

4. xeonblade

xeonblade SS.org Regular

Ok, it sound bass on this doesn't have highs boosted since u can't hear the strings slapping on fretboard. And subs seem to be boosted, but I could use an ear of expert here :D
    I don't have any bass recorded yet, since I haven't officially started recording anything. I'm just learning how to do it and record quick guitar tests. (I don't own a bass at the moment)

5. Konfyouzd

Konfyouzd Dread-I Master Contributor

For what it's worth, I turn up the highs on my bass and I don't a whole lot of clickiness from the strings hitting the board. I think a little of that has to do with how low you set your action and how much your strings actually do slap against the board.

Also, since the snare and cymbals also occupy that sonic space, they may drown out any subtle clicking that might be going on. Then again, I'm not 100% sure on these things.

6. xeonblade

xeonblade SS.org Regular

Well, atleast u try to help, unlike others >.>
    Tnx

7. xeonblade

xeonblade SS.org Regular

8. Larcher

Larcher fpoon Contributor