How to best maintain symmetry or develop a lagging muscle? Pics inside.

Discussion in 'Lifestyle, Health, Fitness & Food' started by Blytheryn, Mar 19, 2016.

1. Blytheryn

Blytheryn Musical Adam West

Hey guys,

I've been lifting weights/bodybuilding since January 2014, and I feel like I have made some decent gains since then. I'm quite happy with my progress and the weights I am moving at the moment. One thing that bugs me though is that I feel that my left side, especially shoulder, biceps are weaker significantly than my right side which is odd, as I am left handed in every aspect except my guitar playing. For example, when doing an alternating hammer curl set of 20 reps my left arm will give tire and eventually give out faster than my right, to the point of not physically being able to keep going after the 10th-12th rep while my right could keep going for another easy 10.

This I feel is ultimately affecting the physical development of my left arm which I feel is becoming less developed than my right. I can notice a small but noticeable difference in the size of my left bicep already. Any suggestions on what to do? I've attached some pictures, to help.

I'd really appreciate any tips and suggestions on what to do to catch up or even out those muscles.

Front
    [​IMG]

Right arm
    [​IMG]

Left arm
    [​IMG]

Right arm flexed
    [​IMG]

Left arm flexed
    [​IMG]

2. Ibanezsam4

Ibanezsam4 SS.org Regular

tons of stretching and mobility work.

get a lacrosse ball and start breaking up the tissue in your shoulders and biceps. start doing wrist mobility, making sure your technique for curls is on point.

reduce your weight on the curls a bit so you can concentrate on every little detail of the movement.

also pay attention to your grip, are you gripping the barbell differently in your left and right hand?

symmetry starts in your head. work on your mind muscle connection instead of just working out the reps