How to avoid the hum?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Wiz, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. Wiz

    Wiz SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I noticed yesterday that my amp hums on channel 1 very noticeably. Moving the power cords around seemed to fix it.

    What's the general idea behind avoiding hum? How do you folks make sure that there's as little interference as possible among your pieces of equipment?
     
  2. pink freud

    pink freud SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    496
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    Honsestly?

    Noise-Gate.

    If you move equipment around fairly often, worrying about cable placement is a pain.
     
  3. danenachtrieb

    danenachtrieb TheGuiltyUnpunished

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Wentzville, MO
    noise gate and replace your cables.
     
  4. Wiz

    Wiz SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Well I have a noise-gate inside of the Invader, the prob is that it can only be turned on in channels 2,3,4 which is why I only notice it on channel 1. Do I have to invest in an external noise gate even though I have one in the amp?
     
  5. damigu

    damigu stay tuned

    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    get a power conditioner.

    if moving your power cords around affects it, then it is almost certainly a matter of electrical interference.
    why it affects only channel 1, i can't say (perhaps a component in channel 1 is closer to the source, or else just more susceptible to the interference).

    a power conditioner will clean up any interference and also help reduce ground loops (another common source of hum).
     
  6. Harry

    Harry Doom man of Doom. Contributor

    Messages:
    8,128
    Likes Received:
    575
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Aus
    Get an external one, built in gates are generally never that good compared to a dedicated external gate.
     
  7. damigu

    damigu stay tuned

    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    gates don't prevent hum!! they just hide it when you're not playing. while you ARE playing, however, you can still hear the hum within your guitar sound.

    you need a power conditioner to plug all of your gear into.
     
  8. Wiz

    Wiz SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Is there a non-rack solution for power conditioners? It seems like they're all meant to work in a rack, and I don't have one :)
     
  9. danenachtrieb

    danenachtrieb TheGuiltyUnpunished

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Wentzville, MO
    furman and other companies do make power strips that reduce hum
     
  10. damigu

    damigu stay tuned

    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    just because it is a rack mount unit doesn't mean you *HAVE* to mount it in a rack. you can just set it on top of your amp if you want. the furman units are very sturdily built with all metal construction and could probably be run over by a truck.

    but there are some units available that look more like surge strips.
     
  11. polloymedio

    polloymedio yamyamyam

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Costa Rica
    get shielding done to your guitar ASAP!
     
  12. Mattnh79

    Mattnh79 kayke

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    Yeah u do need an external noise gate , but they do that because if cannel 1 is clean, a noise gate will fuck up the tone, get the decimator, the boss NS-2 colors tone, u can fix that by not putting the threshold knob all the way up but still hear a little hum, but u can leave the threshold knob all the way up on the decimator and it's 100% transparent, and the Rocktron hush's suck tone as well, MXR smart gate just absolutely sucks.

    :agreed:

    :agreed:

    :agreed::agreed::agreed::agreed: i recommend the Furman PL Pro DCM rack mount power conditioner w/ digital volt meter
     
  13. technomancer

    technomancer Gearus Pimptasticus Super Moderator

    Messages:
    24,825
    Likes Received:
    3,428
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Out there, somewhere
    I would be willing to bet this was already figured out since the last response in the thread was 4 months ago...
     

Share This Page