How much theory is enough?

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by rchrd_le, May 4, 2012.

Tags:
  1. rchrd_le

rchrd_le SS.org Regular

I've been playing for a little over 4 years and I know some scales and memorized some useful patterns.

But unlike most people on SS.org, you guys can name scales, chords, almost anything off the top of your head.

So the main question is, how much theory knowledge does a guitar player need to know to progress in his or her playing?

Do I really need to seriously memorize every scale and chord in the book?

2. niffnoff

niffnoff Just another SunBro

In short, no.
    Some famous players sometimes don't even know theory, they go by ear.

In long, it's a bit of both, sometimes it is alot better to know what you are playing and what you are doing. If you are writing in A minor or something one day, you may want to think ok I can play the harmonic minor here, then modulate to E here, then mindfuck and go B here. It can break off into many different ideas if you think like that. But if you are just started or are seeing people talk continuous "music" don't be daunted or intimidated, some people just talk the language of theory. Some people don't.

But it is best to at least learn the basics of theory before you go anywhere.

3. MrPepperoniNipples

MrPepperoniNipples SS.org Regular

you don't really need to be able to know all the theory off the top of your head, but you should know enough that you have a variety of options when improvising in different scenarios

and i think most important is that you know the foundations of it, so that when given a new situation like in the studio and you want a new sound or something you'd be able formulate a scale on the spot and work with that

like playing over a Major-Minor chord
    "I can use Lydian Dominant to get this sound, or Mixolydian to get this sound, or even Bepop Dominant to get this sound"