How many strings do you change at a time?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by TedEH, Sep 22, 2017.

1. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent

I've always thought of this as an obvious one, but I've always changed all the strings on any instruments at the same time. It bugs me to have one new string and a bunch of dead/old ones on the same instrument. But I hear about people just changing one at a time all of the time- usually from complete beginners.

Does anyone, outside of beginners, ever change just one string at a time?

2. Unleash The Fury

Unleash The Fury SS.org Regular

Unless i break one and have just one spare of that size, i always change all

Edika likes this.
  3. jaxadam

jaxadam SS.org Regular

I'm not a string breaker, and I've always done full string changes.

I actually don't change strings very often, and if one broke a few days/week after a change I'll just replace the one. I usually have enough spares laying around.

Scordare likes this.
  4. NickS

NickS Carvinite

I would pretty much never change just one, but I don't really tend to break strings.

5. smokiekouki

smokiekouki SS.org Regular

I don't understand how people break strings so often to be required to change one at a time. I change them all at once.

6. tedtan

tedtan SS.org Regular

Back when I first started playing, the bridge saddle for the high E string had a bur and would cause strings to break frequently. Sometimes more than once a day. At that time, I would change just the broken string.

After a week or so, I figured out the problem and fixed it, and have only changed strings out as whole sets since then. I'd still change a single sting out if one broke while I was putting it on with the rest of the set, but that's only happened once or twice since I started playing back in '87 (Wow, 30 years ago now :eek: :nuts:).

smokiekouki likes this.
  7. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent