How do you unwind a guitar string?

Discussion in 'Extended Range Guitars' started by Matt11768, Sep 13, 2014.

1. Matt11768

Matt11768 SS.org Regular

Hello,sorry if this is a dumb question, I am a newbie at stringing guitars, In the past I would go to the local guitar shop and have them changed there but I want to learn how to do this on my own. I am having a bit of trouble trying to restring my 8 string. I have a .090 string that is too thick for the tuning peg, I hear when I search for "string to thick for peg" to either unwind the string or drill in the peg. I do not wish to drill the peg.

People say to unwind the string, but everywhere I look no one seems to say exactly how do you do this. The metal windings seem too tiny to grab with my fingers. Is there a specific tool I should use for this? Also if anyone has a link to images of this process that would be awesome.

2. KristapsCoCoo

KristapsCoCoo SS.org Regular

I just do this with knife and when I'm able to grab it with fingers, I do it that way until I've unwinded enough. Freaked out a little bit first time I did it, cause I didn't know if it would work out and it seemed kinda hard, but now it works like charm!:metal:

3. MoshJosh

MoshJosh SS.org Regular

I usually take a pair of pliers pinch the very end and pull/ twist a little bit

And before anyone beats me to it. . . That's what she said

crg123, pondman, lewis and 1 other person like this.
  4. Yo_Wattup

Yo_Wattup Kick the Butterfly

needle nose pliers is what i use

lewis likes this.
  5. Matt11768

Matt11768 SS.org Regular

thank you guys so much it worked!

6. Explorer

Explorer He seldomly knows...

Formerly from Cucaramacatacatirimilcote...
    Just in case anyone is interested after the fact...