Honeymoon's over: ESP LTD H-207 Review

Discussion in 'Guitar Reviews' started by robotsatemygma, Mar 2, 2009.

1. robotsatemygma

robotsatemygma myspace.com/pygar1

Ok I figured I wanted to do a review of my H-207 once the honeymoon period was over. It's been about roughly a month with this guitar, a few shows, and tons of hours spent playing.

This isn't my only experience with a 7 string guitar, as I have owned a Squier 7 banger years ago, and I've spent countless hours with other 7's in the past. I'm also a very VERY picky guitarist, and stick with what I find is tried and true. I've been playing on and off for the past 8 years or so now on and off, in and out of various bands, and I play a wide selection of music in my current band, ranging from classical to jazz to metal. Nothing like Yngie Malmsteen or Vai, but I like to think I can utilize a fretboard. :lol:

Features:

I bought the H-207 used from a music store here in Minnesota and the previous owner installed a EMG 707 in the bridge of this guitar and kept the Duncan Designed in the neck, disconnected.

Stock, the guitar comes with a pair of Seymour Duncan's "Duncan Designed" humbuckers based of their JB and '59 design. The guitar seems to be a one piece Ash body, 3pc Maple Bolt-on neck, and a 24 fret Rosewood fretboard. The controls are a volume, tone, and 3 position pickup selector, activating the bridge pickup, both pickups, or the neck pickup. It also comes with generic brand tuners and a string through body tune-o-matic.

I gave the guitar a 4 for features. It's simplistic in features, but it's not at all means cheap. I found the Ash body to be a nice change compared to the other tonewoods available from the competition.

Sound:

Like I mentioned above this guitar is modified with an EMG707 in the bridge and the original Duncan Designed in the neck, which is not connected.