Hi All - Serial beginner here trying to get started with Metal!

Discussion in 'Member Introductions' started by tapedex, Aug 17, 2017.

1. tapedex

tapedex SS.org Regular

Hi everyone! I've been playing guitar on-and-off for about 3 years; mostly "off" not as much "on". I started with the basic rock stuff, and quickly ended up down a blues rabbit-hole. I've been fighting the prog and neo-classical metal bugs for a while now, but now I've decided to fully embrace it.

No seven-string just yet, but in time. For now I'm doing what I can on a Tele Baja while I find the right 7-string for me.

At the same time, I'm also trying to learn some classical guitar as well as reading standard notation from Noad's book with an older nylon-string guitar of my wife's. I'm hoping that'll help with the metal stuff.

Anybody have any recommendations on where I can start with learning how to play metal? I tried "Shredding Bach" - but a couple of measure's into the first (easiest) song, I quickly found myself in over my head.

Thanks everyone!

P.S. - Can someone tell me why the rules thread is all crossed out? It says cross-posts are prohibited, but it's crossed out, along with all of the other rules. Thanks :)

2. crankyrayhanky

crankyrayhanky SS.org Regular

How about starting with For Whom the Bell Tolls?
    Easy enough to jam, but enough parts in there to give you a decent right hand workout on the all downstroke technique & palm mutes. Good Metal needs a solid right hand rhythm

For leads like you mentioned you may as well go Yngwie. His stuff sounds great even at half speed

I also just started the Jason Richardson arpeggio program. It's 10 or 15 bucks & super valuable

tapedex likes this.
  3. tapedex

tapedex SS.org Regular