Help with wiring a Push/Pull on guitar with single volume knob?

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by Alex Leverell, Jun 29, 2017.

1. Alex Leverell

Alex Leverell SS.org Regular

Hey guys, got a Ibanez RGDIX6MPB with Bare Knuckle Juggernauts installed and I'm trying to figure out how to install a CTS 500K Push/Pull pot in place of the volume pot for more versatility/options.

Is this possible with this guitar? (Been having trouble finding examples/wiring diagrams)

If possible, what are some good ways and configurations to use the push/pull pot in?
    (e.g. split coil/coil tap series parallel)

What are the differences between these configurations?

Would really appreciate some help from as I'm not very experienced, thanks in advance:)

2. saminator

saminator Do you even praise, bro?

Push-pull pots can be very handy. There's a couple things you can do with them, but you'll probably have to choose one.

My favorite use for them is an on-off capacitor. If you don't know, a capacitor on a volume pot will retain high frequencies when you roll the volume down. This can give you a bright, chimey sound when your volume is rolled off. It's similar to a single coil sound, but not quite the same.

Another thing you can do, and you mentioned this already, is coil split. You can turn off a single coil on BOTH humbuckers this way. I think coil tap is slightly more involved, but similar nonetheless.

Series-parallel switch seems like a cool idea, but I've never done it before. A humbucker wired in parallel has a brighter, slightly thinner sound. Not sure if you can switch two humbuckers on one switch though.

3. Drew

Drew Forum MVP

Anything's possible, but I think you're going about it the wrong way.

What do you want the guitar to do that it isn't doing now?

Depending on the answer to that question, a push-pull (or something else) might be an answer. Knowing what you want is the critical first step though.

4. CapnForsaggio