Help with Line6 direct

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by 7slinger, Jul 16, 2006.

  1. 7slinger

    7slinger wake up dead Contributor

    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    169
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    work...in St. Paul
    I have a FlextoneIII amp with direct outs that I sometimes use at home to lay down scratch tracks with Cubase.

    I know that lots of people have good luck getting good and even great sounds with their Line6s direct; I, however, do not.

    The sounds I get always sound digital, and just flat out bad, nothing like a real amp at all. The recorded tones are also never anything close to what I get for tone from the speaker.

    I'm to the point where I want to just sell the damn thing and get a small tube combo (I've been watching F30s when they pop up on the bay), but I love having the versatility of direct recording, and being able to use headphones whilst others snooze.

    People, please tell me what the fuck I have to do with this thing to get decent direct recorded sounds out of it.:mad:
     
  2. DSS3

    DSS3 Banned

    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    -
    First of all, what model, cab, and mic are you using? I've really only found one semi-real sounding setting for PODxt's at least.
     
  3. 7slinger

    7slinger wake up dead Contributor

    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    169
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    work...in St. Paul
    I guess I usually go with the Recto model (this is apparently an older model than what is offered now, cause it says "Recto" right on it), with the recto cab...but I've switched around to different amps/cabs when I haven't been happy with the results, so I've also tried the JCM800 (not enough gain), the Line6 "insane" amp, and some of the clean mods. The results are just poor, and the cleans sound very sterile and digital.

    I use an XLR from the direct out to the in on my Firebox, then firewire into Cubase. I don't think there is any mic settings on the amp at all (if there is, I haven't noticed it in the few years since I got it:lol:)
     
  4. DSS3

    DSS3 Banned

    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    -
    Ah ok. I don't think the Flex's were designed to really record direct like the POD's or Vetta's are - I seriously suggest buying an SM57 and micing your recto. The pre's in the Firebox are actually really clean!
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff Banned from Reality

    Messages:
    4,380
    Likes Received:
    285
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    the XLR outputs do have cabinet modeling, so they are designed for direct to PA or direct to recording.

    However I still think an SM57 slammed in the front, as you said, sounds better. Even with a modeling amp.
     
  6. Mykie

    Mykie Fatal Havoc

    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago
    Do you have AIR II on, you have to have that on.

    When you record out use the Double Tracker if you have it.

    Record one amp (Recto) and pan it right, then record another amp (Insane) and pan it left.
     
  7. 7slinger

    7slinger wake up dead Contributor

    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    169
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    work...in St. Paul
    the manual says that the XLR outputs are A.I.R. II outputs, but it seems the A.I.R. II thing is always on if you use these outputs, as I see nothing about disabling it or turning it on.

    If by double tracker you mean use the left and right outputs and record them simultaneously as mono tracks in my software, I could do that, but I don't think this amp has the capability to do dual amp stuff (like the vetta I believe).
     
  8. Mykie

    Mykie Fatal Havoc

    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago
    By the whole left and right thing I mean to record one amp model one on side, then record the other amp model and pan it to the other side. So you record the same riff twice. I dont think the Flex has a double tracker, my Vetta II has it. What it does is overdub what you record so it sounds fuller while you play it the first time.
     
  9. 7slinger

    7slinger wake up dead Contributor

    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    169
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    work...in St. Paul
    ya this amp doesn't have that
     
  10. DSS3

    DSS3 Banned

    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    -

    What I mean by 'not designed for direct recording' is that you can't choose the mic, room tone, or cabinet, like you can on a PODxt or Toneport, which is the whole reason they sound so much better than anything else on the market, IMO.


    But really, slam a 57 infront of the sucker, and letterrip!
     
  11. 7slinger

    7slinger wake up dead Contributor

    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    169
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    work...in St. Paul

    you can choose the amp and you can choose the cab...no settings for mic or room tone
     
  12. 7slinger

    7slinger wake up dead Contributor

    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    169
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    work...in St. Paul

    I only want to be able to record direct at home, quietly...if I want to dig out my 57 I'll throw it in front of my recto at my practice space.:shred:
     
  13. Jeff

    Jeff Banned from Reality

    Messages:
    4,380
    Likes Received:
    285
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    You guys might dig the new Gearbox Plug-Ins coming out. Basically like Toneport, sans the fancy interface but with a USB DI box, and instead of being a software program you run it through on the card level, it's a plug-in, ala Amplitube or Guitar Rig. But with Line 6 sound quality. MMmmmm :D I can't wait to get it, and use the fuck out of it with Tracktion.
     

Share This Page