Help me rip apart this mix

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Raindrop Collector, Feb 3, 2018.

1. Raindrop Collector

Raindrop Collector SS.org Regular

Hey everyone at SS!

I've been working for close to 5 months on what I hope to be the FIRST EVER single for by band, but before I start pushing it out to the public for mass consumption I wanted to get as many opinions as I can on what I've got.

Here's the link!

https://soundcloud.com/user-850914169/rough-demo-1

In terms of the song: It's got a lot of Porcupine Tree Vibes, but I also try to put in enough of my own touch that it feels like its' own song. Still progressive, and the album it'll be on is somewhat conceptual.

Though I have strayed pretty far from the technical metal that I started doing when I joined, I have always immensely benefited from all of the wonderful insights, opinions, and feedback from you folks :) Anything is fair game. Something you love? Awesome! Something you hate? Even better. Please help me make this as good as possible!

Thanks!

TedEH and IGC like this.
  2. KingAenarion

KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

The only things I really can notice, is that the snare is taking up a lot of space. Actually all the drums are. They also, I feel, need to be panned harder.

High end is a little cooked, need to look at that. Low end is VERY cooked, need to spend some time with a LPF clearing it up.

Vocals need more... oomph. Some slammed parallel compression and layered pushed back delays to help them pop forward more.

Production is freakin' excellent, as is the songwriting!

3. Stijnson

Stijnson SS.org Regular