HELP FROM ANYONE THAT USES CAPZ LOCK PLEASE

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by thevisi0nary, May 30, 2012.

  1. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Location:
    asbury park, nj
    Im not even going to get into how worthless arobas music is for refusing to help me in any way regarding guitar pro 5.

    so heres my dilemma

    since i love writing on guitar pro i like to listen to it in my car but you need to convert it to mp3. Ive been using a program called "direct midi to mp3 converter" and its never been a problem, however since i upgraded to the most recent version of guitar pro five i cant get it to convert without the rse. I dont want the rse i just want the standard guitar pro sounds. I was able to find an older version of midi to mp3 converter that stopped doing the rse (why this would have any affect on the guitar pro program i have no idea) but i cant find that version anymore, so im asking how i can get a good sounding midi file to mp3 without rse.

    So im actually asking two questions.

    1. When i used to do it, it had a way different sound when converting. I will send you a version of that sound because i cant even replicate it again, even when i was successfully able to stop getting rse mp3 conversions. I would really like to know how to get this sound again

    (listen to this link)
    The Absence of Clarity by ryanjohannensen on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

    (this has a very different tone than normal guitar pro midi)



    2. even if i cant get the origional sound i just want to be able to convert the midi and have it sound like guitar pro without the rse.

    Ultimately id like to be able to get this sound and normal midi sound when neccesary cause the other sound sounded better with metal and mostly i play rock now but i still write metal.
     
  2. Demiurge

    Demiurge Intrepid Jackass

    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    I'm not terribly familiar with the program, but here is my guess: the newer/different software is mapping the file to a different MIDI instrument when it creates the audio file. MIDI is essentially a set of instructions for a tone generator, and most computers have a fairly primitive MIDI synthesizer (drums, piano, strings, guitar, etc), which is what you're hearing in that video.

    Unless the MIDI-to-mp3 software is a complete lemon, it should let you change the "instrument" that is used to create the audio file.
     
  3. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Location:
    asbury park, nj
    um okay what the fuck i definatly made the title "help from anyone that uses guitar pro 5 please" so i dont know if i got hacked but thats bullshit and is very immature
     
  4. Demiurge

    Demiurge Intrepid Jackass

    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    295
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    No hacking. Posting topics in all caps is frowned-upon, so the "punishment" usually involves a mod changing the topic name to some caps-related lulz. It's all in good fun, really.
     
  5. SpaceDock

    SpaceDock Shred till your dead

    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    418
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Location:
    Windsor, CO
    ^ that's what happens when you post an all caps title, read the forum rules

    :ninja:
     
  6. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Location:
    asbury park, nj
    hahahaha that is pretty funny actually i thought it was a conspiracy
     
  7. CTID

    CTID Duh-Jent

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    77
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    As far as I remember, GP5 let's you export straight to mp3. If not, definitely to .wav, which you can convert to mp3 from there, and as long as you set the instruments to have RSE off, even when it's activated, you should be able to export it with the MIDI sounds.
     
  8. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Location:
    asbury park, nj
    it doesnt and the wav records it with the computers microphone, wich is stupid, i cant stand arobas outside of making a good program
     
  9. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Location:
    asbury park, nj
    Bump sorry I'd really like to figure this out
     
  10. TheProgWay

    TheProgWay SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, AB, Canada
    I am sure you can turn off the RSE in GP5 and it'll work as normal.
     
  11. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Location:
    asbury park, nj
    it doesnt, every time i convert the file to mp3 the rse turns on and i dont understand how to make it stop
     
  12. juice_74

    juice_74 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Turn on stereo mix and record the playback with audacity, can do some basic editing and then export as mp3. Too easy!
     
  13. eaeolian

    eaeolian Pictures of guitars I don't even own anymore! Super Moderator

    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    818
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA
    Did you try installing GP5 without the RSE?
     
  14. thevisi0nary

    thevisi0nary SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Location:
    asbury park, nj
    You would think that works!! But it doesn't, I don't freaking understand it
     

Share This Page