Hd147 or vetta?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by thedownside, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. thedownside

    thedownside SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Moncton, NB, Canada
    So in a lil bit i'm gonna be looking for a new amp, and these 2 are both near the top of my list, but i'm curious as to how they compare. is the hd147 just a stripped down vetta mainly built for metal? used these days on ebay they seem to be very similarly priced, so does the hd147 excell at anything over the vetta?
     
  2. TomAwesome

    TomAwesome I LIKE JUICE!!!

    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    574
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    I think it's just a stripped down Vetta, but I guess I'm not 100%.
     
  3. eon_shift

    eon_shift SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Pickering, Ontario
    I dont have experience with either of these but if you want loud as fuck ear destroying volume the hd 147 is for. If you want a ridiculous amount of versatility you want the vetta.
     
  4. thedownside

    thedownside SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Moncton, NB, Canada
    well i dont need to be able to dial up 654 tones, i know that from my previous pod and current gnx3k. and i use very few effects, but i like modellers, dunno why, they just do it for me. i really need like 3-4 tones, on the ultra heavy side for most of them :D

    is the hd147 louder than the vetta? i like the thought of the 2 amps at once in the vetta, but it could be one of those it's cool to have, but i never really use type of things, hah, like allot are to me (i love my whammy pedal, but i be damned if i actually found a use for it!)
     
  5. eon_shift

    eon_shift SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Pickering, Ontario
    the vetta and the hd 147 should be pretty similar in the volume area but if you can afford the vetta it seems to be the better amp. That being said from what you're saying the hd 147 will most likely have you covered. looking at prices the vetta is only about 400$ extra so if you can afford it id go for the vetta it just gives you more options but if that extra 400$ is a big deal i think you'll be fine with the hd 147.
     
  6. Rick

    Rick ALL HAIL DJOD Forum MVP

    Messages:
    18,915
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Go with the Vetta. Trust me. As someone who loves his HD, if I had had the opportunity to buy the Vetta instead, I would have. You'll love the dual amp feature.
     
  7. thedownside

    thedownside SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Moncton, NB, Canada
    i was leaning towards the vetta, as used they seem to be about the same price. if i was going new it's be the hd147 cause i'd like to save that cash. i was more just checking to see if the hd147 had anything the vetta might not :)

    how much more complicated is it to program the vetta as opposed to the hd147?
     
  8. mnemonic

    mnemonic Custom User Title

    Messages:
    3,838
    Likes Received:
    238
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    i really dont like pods at all, i had my xt live for about 6 months and never found a tone i was really happy with, but last weekend i was at guitar center, and there was a vetta II combo there, so i thought "what the heck, lets see if its worth the $1600 price tag"

    and to be quite honest, i was very pleasantly surprised with the results. the vetta II sounded waaaaaaaaaay better than my pod ever did. after about 5 minutes figuring out how to change stuff, and another 10 minutes of tweaking patches, i came up with some pretty awesome metal rhythm tones. it still had that djenty feel that i didn't like about my pod, but it was alot less apparent, probably because of the dual amp feature. (it could still djent really easily, but i could also get a pretty cool sounding chug out of it)

    i'm sure if i had a couple weeks with it i'd be able to create way better tones, but for 10 minutes of tweaking, i was very happy.

    also, its dead easy to navigate, i knew exactly what i was doing after playing with knobs and buttons for a couple minutes. layed out fairly similar to the pods.

    i've never tried an HD147 tho, so i can't comment on them.
     
  9. loktide

    loktide dotlike Contributor

    Messages:
    5,095
    Likes Received:
    985
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    i've never played the VETTA, so i can't comment on that...

    I used to play a flextone II head and got to play a HD147 once. From my impression with the HD147, i didn't feel or hear an improvement over the flextone. If you want a line 6 amp to play on your own or below band-practice volumens then you won't regret it. For some reason, the poweramp on these things isn't really very powerful and gives a disgusting clipping sound when cranked although it's not that loud. I also had problem cutting through in a band mix with this thing.

    Anyway, my suggestion would be a podXT (+metalshop model pack) through a tube poweramp if you want a line6 rig. Otherwise get a flextone. You won't be throwing away that much money with it at least.
     
  10. InTheRavensName

    InTheRavensName Dog says yes ^.^ Yes

    Messages:
    3,392
    Likes Received:
    96
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    I have a HD147, it's solid but I'd trade up to a vetta in a second
     
  11. plusyear

    plusyear SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Location:
    Athens
    i vote the vetta too
    the 2 amps at once features is awesome you ll be love it
    Go for the vetta
     
  12. Benzesp

    Benzesp Banned

    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Buy a upgraded ver 2.5 Vetta I if you want to save cash. the only diffrences are the cosmetics and software. It is exactly the same amp other than that. Once the I/O pannel and the sofware gets up rev'ed you got a Vetta II for half the price. You can pull that gay plastic Storm Trooper thing off of it as well and it makes it look so much better haha. The dual amp function is fucking awesome.
     
  13. Rick

    Rick ALL HAIL DJOD Forum MVP

    Messages:
    18,915
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I couldn't agree more. There is a setting on it that is fucking mindblowing. I actually have thought about taking the 2 amp settings and using them on my recordings. :hbang:
     
  14. Necky379

    Necky379 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    you can can the two amp at once feature with the 2.5 upgrade?
     
  15. Benzesp

    Benzesp Banned

    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Yea, its been a Vetta feature for a long time
     
  16. thedownside

    thedownside SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Moncton, NB, Canada
    so the 2 amp at once, can they be layered, or is it just a stereo out? my randall cab is stereo so i could run it however, just thinking about possibilites :)
     
  17. starsnuffer

    starsnuffer SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    The HD147 is the head version of the flextone.

    The vetta is an overpriced Pod X3 with a built in craptastic poweramp.

    Get whichever sounds better to you, but do yourself a favor and try them out in a band setting first, as they tend to disappear in the mix.

    -W
     
  18. Benzesp

    Benzesp Banned

    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    190
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    You can do it mono or stereo. If you got a pair of cabs or a stereo cab you are alright. Run stereo if you can. The signal routing possibilities are pretty much unlimitied.
     
  19. Rick

    Rick ALL HAIL DJOD Forum MVP

    Messages:
    18,915
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Both amps play at the same time so they sort of are layered.
     
  20. thedownside

    thedownside SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Moncton, NB, Canada
    i've used nothing but modellers in a band setting for 2+ years, never had a problem, i'm not worried about that.
     

Share This Page