Guitar student of mine wants to learn some Dream Theater... suggestions?

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by HumanFuseBen, Jul 22, 2009.

1. HumanFuseBen

HumanFuseBen SS.org Regular

I have a student who has taken lessons from me for a while. he's a pretty solid player! he could use a little more attention to accuracy and precision, but he's got a solid repertoire of techniques going.

anyway, he told me he'd like to learn some Dream Theater to boost his chops. i'm not a huge DT fan (anymore, i used to LOVE them), but i dig Petrucci's playing. plus, as a teacher, i would MUCH rather work on this stuff than some Job for a Cowboy bullshit hahaha

i think he could play most all the riffs, but probably not any of his REALLY intense solos. the more chill melodic ones, i'm sure he could do, but no Glass Prison arpeggios or anything like that.

so far i was thinking of Pull Me Under, Home, and maybe Overture 1812 (or whatever.... 1st instrumental on SFaM). any other ideas?

oh, and p.s., he plays a 6 string, although he plans on making the right choice and buying a 7 this summer!

2. liamh

liamh Geek-chic

Octavarium solo.
    Long, big phrasing, slow for the most part, but with some pretty fasst picking as well.

3. Esp Griffyn

Esp Griffyn APEX

"Lie" - dead easy for the most part, If I remember there is some crazyness at the end, but the end of the song is just a big open progression that is ripe for some improv. Once he gets his 7 of course, it will be a nice incentive for him to buy one ;)

4. willybman

willybman Willard

yeah, pull me under is great, my teacher taught it to me when i was taking lessons.

5. TimSE

TimSE SS Contributor

the count of tuscany from Black clouds and silver linings is a wicked tune and very do-able for someone whos just getting into dream theater - playing wise that it

other than that LIE is a wicked tune

6. shaneroo

shaneroo Oh, herrrrro......