Good poweramp for Axe-Fx??

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by TravisMontgomery, Nov 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TravisMontgomery

    TravisMontgomery SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I'm getting one of these soon, and was wondering what type of poweramp I should get. I can't spend a whole lot on one, so I was thinking maybe a SS poweramp would work?
     
  2. Minoin

    Minoin Scientist

    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    68
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Utrecht, NL
    My first choice would be a VHT 2502 I guess. But if don't have that much to spend, I'd say a Peavey 50/50.
     
  3. thebhef

    thebhef King....of....Mountn Contributor

    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Location:
    Springfield, IL
    I would think you'd want a hi-fi amp. You're modeling the power amp with axe-fx, too. No reason to bother with tubes as far as I can imagine. It'll just color your tone more. Same with guitar speakers. PV, QSC and Crown are all pretty good amps. The RMX series from qsc seems pretty solid to me. There are some inexpensive QSCs and PV's on MusiciansFriend.
     
  4. Crucified

    Crucified Deathgrind Maniac

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    520
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Victoria BC
    if you're spending big money of the preamp, don't skimp on the power side. tube power is where it's at.
     
  5. eegor

    eegor Theoretical Reality

    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    139
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Location:
    Nashville
    Carvin?
     
  6. Anton

    Anton Death Squad

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Moscow Russia\Jerusalem Israel
    Stupid quetion: I'm thinking of getting the Axe Fx aswell, can I just connect it to a cab and that's it? Or I need a power amp?
     
  7. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,400
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    if your doing solidstate i'd go with a mackie, if your doing tubes a peavey 50/50 would be fine
     
  8. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,400
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    you have to have a power amp
     
  9. TravisMontgomery

    TravisMontgomery SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Thanks for the suggestions guys! I'll check out Mackie and Carvin power amps. I've read about a lot of people using Carvin with their Axe Fx's, so I'm leaning towards those.
     
  10. Anton

    Anton Death Squad

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Moscow Russia\Jerusalem Israel
    Sorry for the newbie question but why do I have to have a poweramp? for the AxeFx or for the cab?
    If I have a amp head I dont need the power amp right?
     
  11. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,400
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    ^ an amp head has a pre amp AND a power amp in the same box, when you buy the axe fx your just getting a pre amp, you have to have a power amp to amplify the signal to the cabinet. you could still plug into the axe and listen through headphones if it has a jack for it but thats all you could do with out the power amp

    so yea, if you have an amp head you'll probably have a jack that lets you bypass its preamp and use an outboard pre amp and us the power section of the head
     
  12. march

    march SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium
    You can go straight from the AxeFx to active speakers, or you can hook it up to either a solid state/tube power amp, through either regular guitar speakers cabinet or FRFR* passive speakers.

    Depending on the setup you will either have to activate the mic modeling and cabinet simulation (in a FRFR setup), or deactivate it (with guitar speakers).

    So, afaik:

    AxeFx > PA FRFR active speakers
    AxeFx > FRFR tube-driven speakers (ex: Traynor K2)
    AxeFx > tube power amp > guitar speakers cab
    AxeFx > solid state power amp > guitar speakers cab
    AxeFx > solid state power amp >passive FRFR PA speakers

    * FRFR - Full Range Flat Response. This means the combined amp and speaker system covers the full range of hearing (20Hz to 20KHz) and that the response is flat over this range. Guitar tones only produce sound over a range of about 50HZ to 10KHz.
     
  13. mnemonic

    mnemonic Custom User Title

    Messages:
    4,091
    Likes Received:
    386
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    if i had an axe fx i would probably go with clean solidstate poweramp. the axe fx models the poweramp as well as the preamp, so i would try to get a poweramp that doesn't color the tone.
     
  14. Anton

    Anton Death Squad

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Moscow Russia\Jerusalem Israel
    Ok this is clear,So another question I see for example someone is using a invader 100>axe fx>Cab
    Why would some one want 2 preamps(head+axe fx) and is it possible to connecet and use both the same time from the same cab?(or the head power amp is powerfull enough for both)
    I confused couse I see people use preamps and heads toghether I want to understand how do they work together and how does it contribute to sound?

    Thanks for the explenation :D

     
  15. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,400
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    ^ if you really like the tone of the preamp your head has in it and you want to use of effects(because most amp head pre amps dont have effects in them), then you can plug a pre like the axe fx into your effects loop(or the front of the amp but most people dont care to do that) and just use the axe for effects and get your distortion and clean guitar tones from the actual amp heads' pre amp still.
     
  16. Anton

    Anton Death Squad

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Moscow Russia\Jerusalem Israel
    Ok this start to make some sense,If I have a head and a preamp and the heads distortions isnt heavy enough or whatever for me,I can add some heavines and boost to it throw a preamp right?
     
  17. 7 Strings of Hate

    7 Strings of Hate Mid-Level Asshole Contributor

    Messages:
    8,400
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    St.Louis USA
    basically, OR, if you didnt like your distorted tone out of the head, you could just put your head on its clean channel, put that channels eq flat(12 o'clock) and use the other pre's distortion and just use the power from the head.
    in the situation i just described it would make more sense to sell the head and just buy a power amp.

    is that you in your avatar pic? if so your a big mofo man:lol:
     
    Anton likes this.
  18. Anton

    Anton Death Squad

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Moscow Russia\Jerusalem Israel
    Yeah that's me :D LOL

    Well everything makes sense now,Thanks!
    I see that alot of people on the forum use Invaders and axe fx...I thought they use seem both together the same time...and not each separately that's why I had a big mess in my head
     
  19. Shannon

    Shannon Lord Super Awesome Contributor

    Messages:
    10,078
    Likes Received:
    1,728
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    For SS amps, check out Carvin. Reasonably priced & tons of clean power. I'm using a DCM1500 power two 2x12 cabs (300w @ 8 ohms per side).
     
  20. TomAwesome

    TomAwesome I LIKE JUICE!!!

    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    574
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    I think there has been a little bit of misuse of the word "preamp" here. In a head, the preamp is the part of the amp that shapes the tone (including adding gain) before it's amplified by the power amp and sent to the speakers. A preamp isn't really an effect per se. The Axe-FX isn't a preamp really. It's a multi-fx unit with amp modeling. Of course you can turn off the effects and power amp and cab sims to use it in effect as a preamp, but to refer to the Axe-FX as a preamp is a little misleading. It's more along the lines of a GT-X or a POD, only much better.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page