Good but cheap poweramp for an engl e530?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by ozzman619, Oct 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ozzman619

ozzman619 SS.org Regular

hey guys, im new to the whole preamp/poweramp thing, but im really digging the engl e530 and for that price i just have to buy one, so now the only thing is i need a decent poweramp i was thinking a fryette 2/90/2 but ive kinda ran low on money after but a new 2x12 cab with eminence governors in it, so im looking for a cheaper poweramp thats still decent

anyone got any ideas?

2. Albionic

Albionic First of the magi

if you want valve then the obvious choice is the carvin ts100.
    also i'm not sure how much they go for over there but here in the uk the marshall valve power amps(the 9100 and the 50/50) are really cheap used and sound huge. They are 3u though and very heavy. Possibly thats why they don't seem to be too popular on these forums but hey if its good enough for iron maiden........

3. Dvaienat

Dvaienat SS.org Regular

Another vote for a Marshall 50/50 or 9100.

4. Andromalia

Andromalia Pardon my french

Best bang for the buck is a rocktron velocity to make a good and cheap rig with an e530.

5. ozzman619

ozzman619 SS.org Regular

are the rocktron velocitys tube poweramps?

6. Albionic

Albionic First of the magi

the rocktron is a tranny amp but supposed to be pretty good i think they can be made to sound valvey.

tranny power sections tend to lose bottom end/thickness as you turn up the volume in larger rooms and as the e530 isnt known for massive bottom end i'd think a valve power section would be better suited but obviously more expensive.

7. ibanez4lifesz

ibanez4lifesz @TheGuitarRack

PM sent about a Power amp I'm looking to move!

8. raximkoron

raximkoron SS.org Regular