Getting a Harley in a couple of weeks, advice?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by FifthCircleSquared, Mar 15, 2017.

1. FifthCircleSquared

FifthCircleSquared Threadender

I started riding last year, started on an '03 V-Star 650. In May of this year I'm going from the East Coast all the way to Tail of the Dragon and staying in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee for a few days.

I figured if I'm going to do a once in a lifetime roadtrip like this, I should do it on a once in a lifetime bike.

Now, I don't want this thread to devolve into Metric vs. HD vs. Get a Sportbike. I've chosen an HD for several reasons I'd be happy to elaborate on if asked about, but for now, that's the brand I've chosen.

So it all comes down to this: I've got a few different bikes from their stable to choose from. A '16 Lowrider S, a '17 Fatboy, and a '15 Street Glide with a couple thousand miles on it. I've sat on all of them. Out of the three, the Fatboy fits my body best, but has the worst lean angle and feels the heaviest (Even though the SG outweighs it.) The Lowrider makes my inner 20 year old horny (I'm about 30 now), looks the coolest, but has the least amount of features for long rides. The SG sits a little tall but my feet are still mostly on the ground while sitting, and would be the best touring bike for obvious reasons, but my days generally aren't longer than 300 miles.

Thoughts or advice? I'm basically just excited and can't go wrong with my choices, just looking to discuss. :hbang:

2. CrazyDean

CrazyDean SS.org Regular

Of the three, I would get the SG. Being the most comfortable, it's going to be the most likely to be ridden. It's like having an expensive guitar that stays cased in the closet vs the one on the stand in the living room.

Personally, I'd go metric due to low cost and low maintenance. If not, it'd be Victory or Indian. Curious as to why you are so set on the HD.

3. oracles

oracles Australian in Canda