Generic "Which 8-string under $1000?" thread...

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by AlgidInferno, Nov 11, 2011.

1. AlgidInferno

AlgidInferno SS.org Regular

Hey. Newbie here. Sorry if this is in the wrong section...

Anyway, I've been really interested in 8 string guitars. There don't seem to be too many affordable ones (at least for a broke-ass college kid), but of the ones out there, does anyone have a recommendation?

The only mandatory specs are a 27" scale and fixed bridge. I play a 27" 7 string, it feels great and I really don't think I could live with anything longer. Oh, and I'd like to keep it under $1000 USD. Preferably less, like maybe half that much if possible.

The Schecter C-8 has caught my eye, but I've heard that they "suck"...? I'm also familiar with Agile, my 7 is made by them, but I'm really drawn to their Intrepid models, which only seem to come in 25" and 28". I'd assume 25" would make the low string too "flubby", and 28" would inhibit playing on the higher strings. I break my high e often enough on my 27" 7 string, I can't see how 28 would make that any better.

Honestly I'd love to just grab one of these* and be done with it, but my OCD isn't cool with that extra inch, at least not right now. Does it make that much of a difference? If it isn't noticeable, I might go with it...
    *(Agile Intrepid 828 MN Ocean Burst at RondoMusic.com)

Another OCD thing... it seems that Agile offers either a bolt-on with a no-name bridge, or a neck-through with a Hipshot. I hear a lot of conflicting opinions regarding neck style, but that hipshot bridge sure sounds favorable.
    I like the "clean" look of a bolt-on neck though, no big awkward slab of wood going through the middle of the body XD Some say it's tonally better that way anyway.

Well... whatever. sorry for the wall-of-text. Any and all input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

rectifryer likes this.
  2. shredguitar7690

shredguitar7690 NEED MORE STRINGS!!