Free Eventide 26 band EQ - iLok required FYI

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by steinmetzify, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    4,550
    Likes Received:
    898
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
  2. Andromalia

    Andromalia Pardon my french

    Messages:
    6,755
    Likes Received:
    647
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ilok. Over my dead body.
     
    billinder33 likes this.
  3. KingAenarion

    KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

    Messages:
    3,601
    Likes Received:
    162
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    You can actually in many cases just register an account and register to a computer.

    But honestly, the 2 and 3 onwards have worked a charm without a hiccup for most people.
     
  4. schwiz

    schwiz Lefty

    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    85
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Location:
    Burnsville, MN
    Thanks for the tip! I'll give this a try!
     
  5. Drew

    Drew Forum MVP

    Messages:
    26,338
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Somerville, MA
    Is this the software iLok, or the USB dongle? The later would steer me off.
     
  6. billinder33

    billinder33 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    Amen brother.... 20 year old crap technology that can't die fast enough!
     
  7. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    4,550
    Likes Received:
    898
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    Yeah, I have the 3 and it's worked great.

    @Drew it's either or, dude.
     
  8. Drew

    Drew Forum MVP

    Messages:
    26,338
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Somerville, MA
    I think I have the software iLok, maybe I'll grab this. Not really a fan, though.
     
  9. Elric

    Elric SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Not to complain since it is free and all, but I have been doing a lot of real time monitoring of guitar plugins and this thing destroyed my latency performance when enabled during recording/monitoring. Clearly target more toward mastering/mixing, just grabbed it, cuz: free and tried to use it like any other EQ. Using as an AU under Logic.

    May have to knock it around some more; though. Sure it's probably a good a tool when used correctly. ;) I just use plugs for quick practice a lot these days and did not expect an EQ to have that effect.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017
  10. steinmetzify

    steinmetzify CHUG & SLUDGE

    Messages:
    4,550
    Likes Received:
    898
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Location:
    In the shadow of a mountain near SLC UT
    Haven’t messed with it as of yet, I’ll fire it up and see what happens for recording.
     
  11. KingAenarion

    KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

    Messages:
    3,601
    Likes Received:
    162
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Yea it's a linear phase EQ.

    That's what they do, it is most definitely for mastering and mixing.


    When was the last time you used an iLok? The large majority of users don't have a problem, and even less so in the last few years with 3 and the quality of the licence manager.
     
    Elric likes this.
  12. Elric

    Elric SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yeah, I just dumbly thought, “cool! New EQ! Throw it in my Guitar chain!” :facepalm::D
     

Share This Page