Floyd rose saddle question

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by DBDbadreligion, Nov 11, 2006.

  1. DBDbadreligion

    DBDbadreligion SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    hi im wondering if the locking screws on the saddles are all universal between all floyd rose saddles?
     
  2. Kevan

    Kevan <span class="ivorange">The Tremol-No Guy</span> Forum MVP

    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    478
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    The screws that hold the saddle in place (intonation lock screws) or the ones that hold the string into the saddle (string lock screws)?

    I believe all the intonation screws are the same- M4- but are available in different lengths. I think the thread pitch is 0.7.
    When shopping for intonation screws, ask the guy for "button head cap screw, 4 millimeter by [length in millimeters], with a 0.7 thread pitch". If he looks at you funny, go to a different store.
    Note: some trems, esp. OFRs, have "socket head cap screws" instead. Button heads strip quicker, but are more comfortable.

    I'm not sure of the thread size/pitch on the string lock screws. I think they are all metric, and are all 5mm. StewMac carries them. A quick email to their tech support should confirm.

    I sure wish I hadn't sent my trems out to Graphtech....ugh...
     
  3. DBDbadreligion

    DBDbadreligion SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    im talking about the string lock screws. i kinna want to get the graphtech floyd string savers, but since i have Jackson JT-6 trem i have to put my string lock screws on the saddles.

    by the way this is the JT-6 trem if you didnt know already: http://www.fretsonthenet.net/sf-88-page13.jpg
     
  4. Kevan

    Kevan <span class="ivorange">The Tremol-No Guy</span> Forum MVP

    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    478
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Graphtech Floyd Saddles = good!
    I have the first prototype set on the Edge in my RG-565. They feel soooooo nice. Not a string break yet.

    Email Graphtech (Attn: Lea) and ask him if their saddles will work with that Jackson trem. It's tough to tell from a little pic.
    I can tell you they slip right into an Edge trem without issue (string lock screws work fine too).

    (THE GRAPHTECH SADDLES FOR FLOYDS WILL ***NOT*** WORK WITH IBANEZ LO-PRO TREM SYSTEMS!!!)
     
  5. DBDbadreligion

    DBDbadreligion SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    ok, i will do that. i would also imagine that the string lock screws for none lo-pro trems are the same size.

    o yeah, how well do the graphtechs improve sustain?
     
  6. dpm

    dpm Oni Guitars Contributor

    Messages:
    3,601
    Likes Received:
    437
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    EEEK. I think you're going to have a hard time finding parts for that trem.

    http://zeus.lunarpages.com/~jimshi2/newJacksonsite/jackson_soloists.htm

    By 1988 the factory had imported tremolo units made with the Jackson name on them called the "JT-6". It had a push in arm and the fine tuners and locking screws were combined into a concentric system with the lock screw was in the center and the fine tuner was the outer screw. These units feature a Kahler style locknut with slotted screw locking screws. An interesting observation I have made is that while some early JT6 equipped guitars can easily be interchanged with Floyd Rose tremolos, this can't always be pulled off. On two 1988 Soloists I have tried to retrofit with genuine Floyds I encountered slight problems with the stud spacing making the tremolo mount and string up, but not rock smooth as it should.
    [​IMG]
    JT6
    Floyd Rose mounting posts were the wood screw style until 1985 when a body bushing/machine screw style was slowly phased in. The machine screw style was used with the JT6 tremolos as well.
     
  7. DBDbadreligion

    DBDbadreligion SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    well mines is a 1989, so i guess im kinna f**ked.

    but i still dont see why the string lock screws wouldnt be any different.
    im going to take the low e strings saddle off tomorrow and try putting a schaller saddle i have on the string lock screw to see if it fits, i will take pics for future info.
    ____________________________________________________________

    by visually comparing the two, the string lock screws look to be the same size.

    http://zeus.lunarpages.com/~jimshi2/newJacksonsite/JT6.jpg

    http://zeus.lunarpages.com/~jimshi2/newJacksonsite/Floyd Rose.jpg
     
  8. dpm

    dpm Oni Guitars Contributor

    Messages:
    3,601
    Likes Received:
    437
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Yeah they do, but the concentric fine tuner on yours has to be running on a thread. Does the Jackson bolt thread run the whole length of the bolt?
     
  9. DBDbadreligion

    DBDbadreligion SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    the saddle lock screw is the whole way an the fine tuner isscrews on over it.
    the fine tuner doesnt get in the way of anything.

    ok here i took pics of me putting the jt-6's string lock screw/fine tuner onto a schaller/floyd rose saddle. o yeah guess what it all fits perfectly.

    here's the jt-6 lock screw.
    http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y178/DBDbadreligion/Jackson JT-6/Picture010.jpg

    the schaller/floyd rose saddles.
    http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y178/DBDbadreligion/Jackson JT-6/Picture009.jpg

    both together.
    http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y178/DBDbadreligion/Jackson JT-6/Picture011.jpg

    the final product.
    http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y178/DBDbadreligion/Jackson JT-6/Picture015.jpg

    ok there's pics for future info.

    but im so relieved now, im planning on getting the graph tech saddles now.
    hopefully getting those will bring some life and tone back to the guitar.
     
  10. dpm

    dpm Oni Guitars Contributor

    Messages:
    3,601
    Likes Received:
    437
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Fantastic! The only other thing then would be that the Jackson trem has the radius built into baseplate with saddles of the same height (like Ibanez Edge), while the FR has staggered height saddles on a flat base. Just something to keep in mind . You want 6 saddles of the same height. Unless the bridge doesn't match the fretboard radius, in which case you could get tricky and correct the bridge radius with the saddles.
     
  11. Kevan

    Kevan <span class="ivorange">The Tremol-No Guy</span> Forum MVP

    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    478
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    DPM is correct. When you order your GraphTech saddles, make sure you ask for "all the same size" or "all the same height".

    For those without radiused trem plates, you can get the GraphTech saddles in different heights (1, 2, and 3) to do your radius.
     
  12. WarriorOfMetal

    WarriorOfMetal The Dragonrider Contributor

    Messages:
    5,344
    Likes Received:
    463
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA // Northern VA
    hey kevan, would you happen to know what combination of saddle heights i'd need to do a 16" radius on a 7-string OFR?
     
  13. Kevan

    Kevan <span class="ivorange">The Tremol-No Guy</span> Forum MVP

    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    478
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Ooo...I don't know off the top of my head.
    It'll be something like: 1, 2, 3, 4, 3, 2, 1 (I'm not sure if they make a 4)
    Or maybe 0, 1, 2, 3, 2, 1, 0.
    Email GraphTech quick. They'll tell ya exactly what you need.
     
  14. WarriorOfMetal

    WarriorOfMetal The Dragonrider Contributor

    Messages:
    5,344
    Likes Received:
    463
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA // Northern VA
    it's not graphtech i'm looking to get, it's more of a general question....would the answer likely be the same?
     
  15. Jason

    Jason <b><font color="#222222">Sign Your Neg Rep Posts!< Forum MVP

    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    588
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Location:
    The woods..
    :ugh: my head hurts from reading this thread....Glad you found 2 people to help you out..
     
  16. DBDbadreligion

    DBDbadreligion SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    ok well, i had no idea about that radius stuff. the saddles i found are on ebay. i want those becasue they are a better price than the ones on www.stewmac.com.

    ok im looking at my saddles, here's how the heights are going.

    from low to high strings. (bass to treble side)

    E - flat
    A - 1mm higher than (Low E)
    D - 1mm higher than (A)
    G - same height as (D)
    B - same height as (D)
    e - same height as (D)

    so what size do i need, can the graph techs be ordered by height.
    or kevan are they all the same height?

    i think that the reason some saddles are higher than the other is, that the end of the string is popping out the bottom of the saddle which would make it elevate a tiny bit. because looked at the saddles and there just barely raised off the baseplate.
    ___________________________________________________________________
    ok i just took all the saddles off and looked at the baseplate and the saddles.
    there is no staggering on the saddles and the baseplate is flat.
     
  17. Kevan

    Kevan <span class="ivorange">The Tremol-No Guy</span> Forum MVP

    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    478
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    If you get the wrong saddles from FleaBay, they weren't much of a bargain, were they? :)
    There are lots of GraphTech dealers out there. I'm sure they can come close to Ebay *and* get you the right parts.

    On the bottom of each saddle there should be a number stamped or cast into the base. Unless the trem has been re-built (or jacked up), then you should order the set that matches those numbers.

    TIP: Use a piece of masking tape and a sharpie to mark which saddle is which. Don't take the tape off until you're ready to re-string the guitar.
     
  18. DBDbadreligion

    DBDbadreligion SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    so i need to look for a number? but also the graphtechs are sold as a set of six.
    you cant choose you size.

    ok i just looked under all the saddles, i took everyone of them off one by one.
    there were no numbers marked on any of them.
     
  19. Kevan

    Kevan <span class="ivorange">The Tremol-No Guy</span> Forum MVP

    Messages:
    2,128
    Likes Received:
    478
    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    WarriorOfMetal- Sorry I missed your post before.
    -If it's an OFR that DOES NOT have a radiused plate, then you'll need stacked saddles to achieve that radius.
    -If it's an OFR that DOES have a radiused plate, then you'll need same-height saddles.
    Check your plate. Few OFR's have radiused plates, but....we like to check and make sure.
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    That, my friend, sucks.

    According to the GraphTech site: "2 saddles x 3 different heights". Translated onto your trem plate: 1, 2, 3, 3, 2, 1.
    I have to call them tomorrow anyway and find out WTF is up with my trems. I'll find out if they sell single FR saddles and/or how that works.
     
    Drew likes this.
  20. WarriorOfMetal

    WarriorOfMetal The Dragonrider Contributor

    Messages:
    5,344
    Likes Received:
    463
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA // Northern VA
    i'm pretty sure it's a non-radiused plate, but i haven't bought the bridge yet (what i'm doing is buying a black bridge and then replacing the saddles with chrome ones, and i'd like to order all of it at once if possible). i sent an email to the floyd rose company earlier, so hopefully i'll hear from them tomorrow.

    i'm assuming it'd be something like 1 2 2 3 2 2 1, but i could be completely wrong, i suppose.
     

Share This Page