FL Studio 10+Superior Drummer 2.0?

Discussion in 'Drums & Percussion' started by Joose, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. Joose

    Joose Custom User Title

    Messages:
    3,923
    Likes Received:
    248
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    Possible? We just want to be able to program the drums in FL Studio and have the Superior Drummer sounds. But we have no idea how to do that. SD2 and FL Studio 10 are installed. Who knows if all the shit is in the folders they need to be. We're just lost.
     
  2. Variant

    Variant Banned

    Messages:
    6,443
    Likes Received:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    All-white-tukee, Arizona
    Yeah, the install is a little tricky as you have to point Superior to the right place for the library files, but I believe so long as your Superior dll is in the same place (i.e. C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Vstplugins\) it should work.

    Be sure to go to to "more" and tick the boxes to add any added generators/VSTs in FL on the insert/replace channel flyout so it's there. Also, I'd highly recommend using the extended memory version of FL Studio (it's just a different exe) or it WILL crash when large kits and other memory intensive libraries are loaded.
     
  3. Joose

    Joose Custom User Title

    Messages:
    3,923
    Likes Received:
    248
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks dude.

    We can pull a kit up in FL now. Guess now we gotta figure out how to setup everything to where clicking one of those rectangle things will play SD's sounds.
     
  4. Joose

    Joose Custom User Title

    Messages:
    3,923
    Likes Received:
    248
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    So, we gave up on FL Studio. Giving Sonar a shot.

    I really wish we had a Mac. Logic is Mac only right?
     
  5. Kurkkuviipale

    Kurkkuviipale Another Sinking ....

    Messages:
    3,996
    Likes Received:
    959
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Logic is mac only yes. If I were you, I'd check on Reaper.
     
  6. rx

    rx SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    use cubase for easy midi drum editting
     
  7. Variant

    Variant Banned

    Messages:
    6,443
    Likes Received:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    All-white-tukee, Arizona
    Dude, I'd take a harder look at it. S2.0 wasn't that tough to set up in FL Studio for us. Cubase will work as well, but FL's MIDI editing is superior and a shit ton easier on the eyes to look at, IMHO.
     
  8. rx

    rx SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    guess it's all personal preference
     
  9. Prydogga

    Prydogga Giddyup.

    Messages:
    7,281
    Likes Received:
    878
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    Apartment 5B, New York (Vic, Australia)
    If you're planning on doing guitars and the rest in the same DAW, I'd look on Reaper too, it automatically finds all VSTs, and (IMO) is a much better program for recording than FL, which to me only seems usable for putting together loops and the like.
     
  10. rx

    rx SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    correct. and Presonus Studio One Artist is on sale for $30 at audiomidi.com
     
  11. Variant

    Variant Banned

    Messages:
    6,443
    Likes Received:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    All-white-tukee, Arizona
    I use both Cubase 5.5 and FL Studio 9.9 in anger. FL Studio sucks third testicle for recording and editing continuous tracks, it's just not built for it... but Cubase's MIDI (though having some definite advantages) is like getting eye-raped by a Commadore 64 graphics, not to mention programming workflow is generally faster once you learn FL's shortcuts and whatnot. Always keep in mind, if you have both, FL runs excellently under Rewire. :yesway:


    But, yeah... this:

    [​IMG]

    :noplease:

    Seriously, Cubase is a great program is many respects, but they really need to get to ripping off Logic so far as their GUI goes. It's positively archaic.
     
  12. rx

    rx SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    :nono::nono::nono:

    good lord :lol:

    use the drum editor, not the key editor
     
  13. Variant

    Variant Banned

    Messages:
    6,443
    Likes Received:
    1,178
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    All-white-tukee, Arizona
    ^
    I don't use either. I use FL Studio. Only Cubase's new adds (like VariAudio) have a pleasing look to them. Drum editor is the same ugly dogshit. Call me a hater, but as a graphic designer, I strongly their UX guys get on making the legacy parts of their program NOT look like a legacy. :lol:
     
  14. XxXPete

    XxXPete SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    CHICAGO
    Problem w FL and Superior is........... cannot figure out how to have each drum of superior on a seperate mixer-track on fl studio..Anybody?
     
  15. tjalsma

    tjalsma SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Portland
    I agree with using REAPER. 10 times easier than any other program out there.
     
  16. rx

    rx SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    how's the drum editor on that? or does it use the standard midi editor?
     
  17. newamerikangospel

    newamerikangospel Tonight.......you

    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I use FL7 for all of my SD needs, as I find FL's piano roll superior to all other editors.


    To the midi question, add a midi channel, then identify what channel the FL wrapper SD is running under, and then set the midi channel on the sequencer channel. I can upload a template if anyone would like it.
     
  18. Joose

    Joose Custom User Title

    Messages:
    3,923
    Likes Received:
    248
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    Wow, this thread made more progress than I thought haha.

    Well, we realized that the um... copy, of SD2 that we were given was corrupt and shit was wrong all over the place. So we've just been using the step sequencer and FL Studio's drums.

    Hopefully, once we get this EZDrummer/SD2 thing figured out we'll have some drums that don't sound so terrible lol.
     
  19. rx

    rx SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    it SOUNDS terrible? :scratch: did you try playing with the overhead and room?
     
  20. Darknut

    Darknut SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Olympia, Wa
    I have yet to get EZDrummer to work on my computer. I've tried like 3 times. :(
     

Share This Page