First time pickup purchaser, help me decide!

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by OldMate, Sep 8, 2015.

1. OldMate

OldMate SS.org Regular

Hey guys,

I bought a Gibson Les Paul Studio back in 2013 brand new with stock pickups. Everything was great about it at the time but after recently buying a 2014 Schecter Banshee Passive 7 I noticed how much I loved the bite of the Nazgul/Sentient combo.

It was only recently that I decided it might be a good idea to put some new pickups in the old girl (the Gibson, not the Schecter). I don't think I want them to be as aggressive as the Nazgul/Sentient as I usually play progressive metal which isn't always super heavy... I like to play a lot of Devin Townsend and Tool so the first thing I looked at was a JB-Jazz set for a Jones tone but I'm still unsure as to what to look at as I've never done this before.

Has anyone had some experience with different types of pickups in the same or similar guitars? Tell me what you'd recommend!

2. vent187

vent187 SS.org Regular

For an al mahogany bodied guitar, you'll need a bright set of pickups to get that bite that you enjoy. A lot of people enjoy the BKP Aftermaths in Mahogany. They have the attack and bite you're looking for and its aggressive high end should get tamed by your Les Paul's wood configuration. If you want to for SD pups, then check out the Black Winters. Hope that helps.

3. OldMate

OldMate SS.org Regular

Thanks for the advice! I'll definitely look into the aftermaths.

4. AkiraSpectrum

AkiraSpectrum SS.org Regular

JB/Jazz is a pretty versatile pickup set and will be a safe choice, especially since Jones from Tool is rumored to play this set. Devin Townsend tends to use EMG's but you may not want to make the jump over to actives unless you really think you'll like them.