First build - multiscale 7

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by Kaff, Jul 24, 2017.

1. Kaff

Kaff SS.org Regular

So.. I'm committed to building my first own design guitar. I have built one guitar out of crapwoods in my youth but now I feel more comfortable about my craftsmanship skills and patience, and I'm ready to try it! I have access to most of the tools required and I'm a mechanics designer by trade so I'll be modelling everything in CAD. I was about to order woods online when my friend (a luthier hobbyist, TJV @ss.org) let me know he had a pre-glued and pre planed body and neck woods for sale so I'll get a head start on the build. And let me tell you, these woods are BEAUTIFUL:
    19897760_10212228279235125_1466500192_o.jpg

Body: Mahogany with book matched Redwood top
    Neck: 7-piece Wenge/Maple/Mahogany with book matched Redwood top
    It will have a Macassar Ebony fretboard

So there's my starting point. The shape will be a superstrat with design elements from several production guitars, it will have a very slight multi scale (26,25" --> 25,5") and a solid bridge. I haven't locked in on all the hardware or pickup configuration yet they'll sort themselves out as the build progresses. A few glimpses on the CAD model as it stands now:
    20106880_10156389607399606_270635288_o.png
    20048765_10156383428034606_1077264988_o.png

I'm in no rush and going to be doing A LOT of planning before actually cutting anything. I have access to CNC-machines but unfortunately they are preferably not used on wood as it messes up the fluids and stuff. So my plan is to water jet cut good router jigs and do most of my work with the router. For the neck-profile I'll probably 3D-print shape gauges and use them as I shape the neck.

We'll see how this goes.

2. NickS

NickS Carvinite

Looks sweet!! I love the wood choices too! Will be watching this one.

Kaff and Sir Ibanez like this.
  3. Sir Ibanez

Sir Ibanez SS.org Regular