First build help

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by lawizeg, Apr 20, 2013.

1. lawizeg

lawizeg

I want to build a guitar this summer. I've never built much before, as a teenage girl, but I have a friend whose dad builds and he would be wiling to help me out with any special equipment I need.
    Is chambering too advanced for a first build? A BM style headstock? And are woods like Birdseye maple, rosewood, and swamp ash too difficult fr beginners to work with? Trying to get a feel for the actual do-ability of this.

I'm definitely going to be reading everything I can get my hands on about the process of building, I'd just appreciate some advice on those questions before I get into it.

CD1221 and Mattmc74 like this.
  2. The Spanish Inquisition

The Spanish Inquisition Unexpected

Not trying to bash you or anything, but if a friends dad knows everything, can't you ask him?

3. muffinbutton

muffinbutton knows the muffin man

Having never chambered a guitar, I can't say anything about that, as for the rest, a blackmachine type headstock probably wouldn't be too hard for a first build. I was too scared to try on my build especially with it being and 8 string. As for the woods, you shouldn't use very expensive or nice exotic type stuff on a first build. Just to be safe. That way when you make a mistake you aren't out a ton of money and a nice piece of wood. Just my opinions, I haven't finished a build yet but you can mine out in my sig. Good luck!

4. CD1221

CD1221 SS.org Regular

I say go for everything!

Fancy wood, complex design, the whole hog. Build like you plan on keeping it for life. If you approach it with a "it's only my first build, I will build my dream guitar next time" attitude, you won't approach it in the same manner, with the same level of care or attention to detail. Figure out everything you want and go for it!