Fanned fret custom archtop

Discussion in 'Jazz, Acoustic, Classical & Fingerstyle' started by Muad_Dib, Jan 25, 2017.

1. Muad_Dib

Muad_Dib SS.org Regular

Hi there, newbie here. I am a long time reader and i decided to register since I am a new convert to the 7 string. Great place!

Mods, I started the thread here since my question is about a custom archtop that is going to be use mostly or jazz but feel free to move it if it belongs to another section.

I am having a custom 7 string archtop built by a local luthier and we are discussing the fan. I currently own a Strandberg Singularity with true temperament frets on a 25.5" scale, tune to standard (BEADGBE). I did try Plini's Boden OS7 during a local masterclass and the multiscale was 25.5" to 26.25" with a 7th neutral fret but the tuning was drop Ab (AbEbAbDbGbBbEb)... it felt a bit loose but since I do not use this tuning I am not sure if it is relevant.

I will be tuning the guitar in standard with a low A in George Van Eps / Bucky Pizarelli style. I was thinking of a 25.25" to 26" scale because I don't really have big hands but the more I read I think it might be too short for a low A string. I am having the neutral fret at the 9th because my arm is perfectly perpendicular to the neck at this position. Do you think that 25.5" to 26.5" would be better without making to wide in the lower frets? I know that 25.5" to 27" is probably better but I am not sure I would find it easy to play. The nut is going to be 50mm (my Strandberg is 49.3mm). I want to keep the string gauge relatively progressive (12-52 with a 64-70ish low A) so everything is nice and tight with a relatively constant tension but with a comfortable fan.