EZMIX // EZDRUMMER // You CAN get killer sound with the EZ Suite. I Think?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by jinxist, Dec 18, 2016.

Tags:
  1. jinxist

jinxist SS.org Regular

So I just made the transition to Logic X Pro from years of just using GarageBand. I have to say, it's been quiet the learning curve. I loved the ease of GB, but after using logic, it's hard to go back due to its limitations. That said, I started learning about Busing and Limiting, sending my drums out in 16 channels (Superior). I found that my mac couldn't handle the CPU Load...After becoming frustrated I decided to create a "bare bones" template I could use for tracking before adding that "shine" to the mix (and than mastering). So I loaded up EZDrummer and messed around with it. Man was I surprised. So then I thought...Well why not try out EZMix...MAN. That thing is awesome. I can see how people may not like how limiting it is (with only two control knobs, and no way to create your own stuff)...but DAMN does it have some cool stuff going on.

So I played around with my mix. Added some FabFilter stuff (new toys I also picked up), and ended up with a nice punchy mix. I came to the conclusion that the new mix is better than my old one, simply because my old mixes were SQUASHED to pieces (Literally everything was up on bust, and I just compressed the .... out of it). I had no control over the mix like I do now.

I was pretty satisfied with the mix, then I discovered that EZMix has a bunch of mastering presets and bus presets.....BAM, even better.

TLDR; I made a new mix with the EZ suite and I like it a lot...I THINK it might be better than my old mix, but I would like some input on what you all think.

ALSO: This is my first recording using my new Ibanez RGIX 8 string :D

Enjoy! :shred:

[SC]https://soundcloud.com/jinxist/dream-injected[/SC]

2. jinxist

jinxist SS.org Regular

3. Alekke

Alekke Octopus Djentalis