Ernie Ball Music Man JP7(s)

Discussion in 'Guitar Reviews' started by Donnie, Jun 20, 2005.

1. Donnie

Donnie Forum MVP

Well, I got my second one today and I finally decided to write up a review of them. And let me say that I'm not good at writing so I'll do my best. :p
    First off, some of the features are basswood bodies, birds eye maple necks, full floating trems with piezos, locking Schaller tuners, 25 1/2" scale, Custom DiMarzios made for John Petrucci(supposedly similar to a Steve's Special), one is Medallion Gold the other is Lava Pearl. The pics of the Lava Pearl one are a little to red. It's really more of a rust color(which you can kind of see in some of the pics), which I love even more! I'll try to get some pics that show the real color of it.
    And I can't forget the kick ass arm contour. It seems to put your arm in the perfect spot.
    Playability. Holy crap do these play nice! The bass player in one of my bands prefers that I play the JP. He swears that I play better on it.
    I have never played a more perfect neck. Very smooth and solid. The fretwork is flawless on both. These guys really pay attention when they put together a guitar. And apparently you can send them back in and get the extra 'pimp job' done on the necks. I don't know how they can get any better.
    I guess they would similar in profile to a wizard neck but maybe a little flatter. It really reminds me of my old Ibanez Prestige RG1527. Deffinately miles above my old RG7620.
    Both of them came pefrectly set up(for my tastes) and perfectly in tune. Not bad for traveling a couple thousand mile in the back of a truck.
    I'm also quite amazed at how well they stay in tune after wailing on the trem.
    Sound. I'm not real good at describing a guitars tone so I'll just say that they sound great! They have a very thick sound. You can go from the cleanest of clean to the most brutal metal tone, no problem. The piezos are some of the best sounding I have heard. Very crisp.